Is It Right…

…to pierce a baby’s ears?

This cute little chubster is about to get her ears pierced. Isn’t she gorgeous and squidgeable?

The parents who took her to have it done say;

‘It was suggested to us that we pierce her ears early so that she would not remember the pain.’

 

Another woman who had her babies ears peirced recently said,

Did she cry? Yes for a split second. Do I regret it? No.

‘My daughter loves her earrings and she sees herself as batman with pretty ears. It’s much easier to get them done as a baby than when they’re older. Fact.

‘She looks beautiful in her earrings, and she loves to change her earrings when mummy does and wears all different ones.

How many parents force children to go through painful cosmetic surgery on the NHS for vanity reasons? Is that child abuse too?

‘Port wine birthmarks mostly cause no problems but parents choose to put children through painful laser surgery for vanity reasons. Ears pinned back, another unneeded surgery for vanity. If you declare vanity as child abuse, at least roll it across the board.’

 

Personally, I had my ears pierced when I was a baby so I don’t remember anything, but is that the point? The women above talk about ear piercing as though it is a necessary life-saving procedure. Surely if the child wants their ears pierced they will do it when they are old enough as they do with tattoos and cosmetic surgery? And surely with the first mom’s logic why not get little Bubba tattooed early also…remember when we discussed the mother that DID do that here?

So is this really at best a vanity procedure for the mothers? And if it is, is it okay as it’s just a harmless little thing to make Mom happy?

Folks What Say You?!

I’m not 100% either way on this one, yet I was very decided about the baby who was tattooed. We pierced chublings don’t remember the pain of course but why is this even necessary?

The baby does indeed cry for only a few minutes and with a few jingling keys are distracted and the pain is more or less forgotten pretty quickly.

Have you pierced your little cherub?

Let me know…below! 🙂

  1. You’re right The Ed, this is close to murder!

    OR

  2. It’s a tiny moment of pain The Ed, get over it!

 

See the ear piercing vid:

44 comments

  1. It’s dumb for a human being to mutilate another under the guise of their parents idea of beauty. Give your child a chance to grow then decide for themselves. Believe me, a human being suffers pain enough from personal loss, accidents, disease or World events. So if you wish as a tribal or cultural thing why ask. My take only.

  2. can’t watch the video to see the little ones response, but I can say for sure that it’s a big no-no for me. If anything because of concern about them catching and pulling.

  3. I’m sure a wrote a comment for this but anyway, it was pretty much what was already said by everyone else – I don’t agree with it because I think it’s a matter of choice – the child’s not the parents. I was very interesting reading about things from a cultural perspective though. I hadn’t really thought of that.

  4. I had no idea this was actually a cultural thing. In the Philippines, everyone’s baby girls have pierced ears (and boys, circumcised 😁)! In Asia, I think this is not a vanity issue as it is in the west. It’s just something that’s done. So imagine my surprise to learn that Americans (and western cultures) find this very inappropriate, treating it as if parents are committing child abuse! 😦

    1. Lol! It’s interesting though isn’t it! We (humans) do a lot of things just because and it doesn’t hurt to stop sometimes and say ‘Hey why are we even doing this?’

      A bit like FGM (not the same I know) but people do that for cultural reasons and it needed people to wake them up and say ‘Hey what on earth?’

  5. In Sri Lanka both Hindus (I think it is the same in India), Pierce their daughters ears on the 31st day. There are many traditional events happen on that day for both boys as well girls on the 31st day. (don’t ask me why the 31st day, but for many things 31st day has some significance. 31st day after birth as well death) Eg for both babies, They would shave their hair and you invite close relatives and have a pooja and of course there is food. Our babies are usually born with a mop of hair, and so it is not a bad idea to give them good close hair cut. I didnt shave my eldest son’s hair but gave him a very short hair cut. It was the middle of winter in Australia, didnt make sense to shave it fully. I know the rest of the Sri Lankan’s and I would say same in India would be piercing their daughters ears pretty young.

    1. You are what I love about blogging. The stuff you learn! It’s fascinating the different traditions that people adhere to without question and that is across all cultures. Some make sense, some used to make sense but don’t anymore and some never made sense.

      I always see little Indian babies with their ears pierced (with that mop of thick black hair you talked about!) and they do look so cute, but I’d still question the point of it so young. African babies also have it done for cultural reasons, as do South Americans and so on.

      1. Agree with your about the wealth of knowledge you get through belonging to a blogging group where you meet a multitude of nationalities. Like you say some religious and cultural practices make sense but some don’t or need a modification. Eg: shaving the hair for the babies in a hot climate is ideal, but if you’ve migrated to a country where in winter if you did that it is not the wisest idea. My eldest was a winter baby. He had so much hair the nurses called him “Elvis”, After the bath we were all wondering how to dry his hair. It just woudnt dry with a towel. We were not sure if it was ok to use a hair dryer on a new born. So cutting it really short was a good idea, but not shave, protect him from losing too much heat. Piercing another question I am not sure about. I don’t have daughters, so it never crossed my mind. At the same time it is not even a question when growing up, so it never bothered me. As far as I know (as per my mum) the first earing they put is made out of five metals (eg gold, silver dont know the rest), This is to avoid allergies and reactions. I was okay until a mid – late teens. But by late teens I developed reaction for gold. So that theory and belief didn’t exactly work,

  6. It’s sick to think you can cosmetically improve a baby. Parents should learn to appreciate the perfection the baby has by nature.
    Besides, I had my ears pierced as an adult and it didn’t hurt much. Babies are more sensitive and probably have a more acute sense of pain.

    1. Kinda right? We can’t know a babies pain threshold so it IS a little arrogant (welcome to humans). Plus you are right babies are little balls of perfection mentally and physically before adults ruin it all.

  7. I dunno. It seems like a twisted kind of vicariousness or vanity on the parent’s part. Can’t the baby decide for themselves when… you know… they’re not a baby? Is it really so terrible to let them make their own choices that may not necessarily reflect the parent’s own choices?

  8. We make far too many decisions for children that they hardly get a say in, so I do not agree to changing a child’s body without their consent. I was able to choose when I got mine pierced and it was a fun memory I have.

    1. Oh yes that’s another thing I hadn’t thought of shanban21! – Getting it done is like a rite of passage and you can go get it done – of your own accord – with a parent or your friends when YOU decide. Make a fun day of it.

  9. I don’t think it’s cruel in terms of physical pain. That said, why are parents really wanting to do this? Is it so they can dress their child up the way they want? Is it more about them than their baby. As children grow older and if they want to pierce their ears they will. Children, teenagers and adults can tolerate the moment of pain if the piercing is done correctly.

  10. I’m on the No camp. My parents pierced my ears when I was a baby and although I like my ears pierced and think babies look very pretty with it, I would never do it to my daughter without her consent. It’s her body and who am I to pierce her ears for my own vanity.I wouldn’t go as far as calling it cruel or unkind, for me it’s more about my daughter’s choice. They are not my ears to pierce.

  11. I think it’s a cultural thing if you live in a culture where pierced ears are the norm then why not? If, on the other hand, it isn’t generally done, then don’t do it. It can’t hurt worse than genital mutilation, and we aren’t talking about circumcision. So I say get over it and don’t pierce your baby’s ears if it’s not part of your cultural background. It took me seven years to decide to pierce my ears as an adult. Two of my three daughters have pierced their ears as adults. It isn’t more painful for infants than the PKU or vaccinations some of which my six kids have had, some not.

  12. I had my ears pierced as a toddler, but that was because my parents were expecting to be working long-term in a country where all girls have their ears pierced at 8 days old – it was easier than constantly explaining I wasn’t a boy. In the event, it didn’t happen and I spent the next nine years as the envy of all my friends who weren’t allowed to pierce their ears until they were ten!
    That said, I’m against parents making body modifications on their children just because they fancy the idea. If you don’t have a good reason, Leave Those Kids Alone.

  13. I was nine when I had my ears pierced. I had them done for my birthday, just as my sister (12 years older than me) did. Personally I don’t agree with having a babies’ ears pierced. I don’t think it’s a matter of pain, I think it’s a matter of choice.

    A baby can’t vocalise it’s preference for pierced or un-pierced ears. This is all about the parents. Why not pierce her nose and eyebrow while we’re at it? And let’s get her brother’s done too, while we’re all about pain management?

    I’m aware that nine was the arbitrary age my parents picked. My mum had to wait till she was 16. And they point blank refused to have my belly-button done – I had it done myself when I was 18. But at nine I was adamant I wanted my ears pierced, I was old enough to look after my ears and my ear-rings (to avoid infection ect.) and I knew that my ears would forever be scarred (even women who no longer wear ear-rings have the indents to prove it. As do my brothers, who both pierced their ears as teenagers and then out-grew the fad).

    I’m not sure about the port wine mark thing. If it’s covering your child’s whole face is removal really for vanity? I don’t know. Maybe all cosmetic procedures should be limited to 16 years of age and over? At 16 I was offered braces and I declined. My teeth are crooked. It’s not something that’s ever held me back in life or that I regret. I made an informed choice. And, apparently in Japan a snaggle tooth is considered cute.

    Wow. I had more of an opinion on this than I realised.

    1. Lol. I do that… once I get started…
      Yeah I agree with you on the piercing thing – why stop at the ears? Why only the girls be subject to the pain of vanity choices, even before they have the competence to choose.

      And actually now I think of it, a port wine birth mark operation (or whatever they do) is not close to a good comparison that the mother gave and is hardly centred around just vanity. Having one can be psychologically damaging and attract bullies at school. I knew a girl with one that covered half her face she was so hyper aware of it and ladled buckets of makeup on it daily which didn’t cover it anyway.

  14. In Latin America, (at least Colombia) ears are pierced at the maternity. the very same day or the second. Saves a lot of hassle. Hardly any pain. Better to do it then. (Tattoo? On babies? Did I read correctly?)
    Have a lovely week, Edith.
    Yours, Rupert.

      1. Custom. In France it used to be that only the country girls had their ears pierced. (My mother had) 😉 the ladies from “la haute” only used clip ear-rings. 🙂

  15. NO. That’s not your body, Mom. Some things should be left up to the individual. I’m a mother of 5, grandmother of 11, and great-grandmother of 1. I simply do not understand why a parent would deliberately cause their child pain when there’s no health reason for it. Vaccine? Sure. Ear piercing? No. Tattoos? Those people shouldn’t have kids.

    Removing a birthmark? Maybe. I’m willing to be convinced.

    Babies trust their parents. They depend on them totally. I know it hurts for just a moment, but it REALLY hurts for that moment, and they new earrings can hurt, too. You’ve betrayed the baby’s trust.

    Sigh. I try hard to not tell parents how to raise their children. Ghoddess knows I made enough mistakes with mine. I don’t even interfere with my own kids raising their kids, unless I’m asked. But if it’s important, I’ll offer my perspective, once. Such as no circumcision. No one listened to me. But hey, all my daughters breastfed for a couple of years.

    1. It’s a tough balancing game isn’t it? No one wants to hear that they are not doing right by their kids and probably many also don’t want to be the deliverer of that message! But we’re all human and liable to make mistakes and bad choices.

  16. I didn’t get my ears pierced until I was eighteen. I didn’t want my ears pierced until a few months before that. Personally, I wouldn’t pierce the ears of my baby. They can make the choice when they’re older.

  17. I don’t like to limit what parents can do. If they think it won’t be harmful to their child I don’t have a problem with it.

Leave a Reply

