How Long Does It Take For A Blog To Be Successful?

HNTSO edit top image

Depends.
On so many things.

Depends on what you mean by successful.
Lots of readers?
Income?
A place to let off steam?

If you are looking at blogging for a possible income then you have to treat your blog like a business. Invest in it. Both time, passion and money if and when appropriate.
That applies if you are using your blog to springboard something else such as a book release or training videos e.g. yoga, makeup or cooking.

If that is the case then take the example of Victoria Beckham. People have derided her fashion business because at Companies House (the UK business registry) it was shown to be losing money year on year and being bailed out by her ex footballer husband’s money.

Well, only someone who doesn’t understand business would deride this. Her company is still fairly young. Businesses can take up to 5 to 10 years to turn things around and show a profit. That also depends on the type of business you get into. Money moves through businesses in many different ways depending on each individual set up.

Blogging (seriously, as opposed to a hobby) is much the same. You have to give it the time it needs to establish itself and that too may vary based on your topic and how hard you push it yourself.

I have seen blogs get established in literally months (I’ve seen a few quirks where they were established in a matter of days with huge traffic!) and I have also seen them climb real slowly for 3 to 4 years and then suddenly WHOOSH! A catalyst pushes it to the stratosphere… and of courseΒ  there are also those that continue to climb slowly but surely.

So the answer to How Long Does It Take For A Blog To Be Successful is ‘X’.

And X very much depends on the blogger, their choices and sometimes a fair sampling of old fashioned luck.

The one thing that IS guaranteed is that if you are not open to change where change is required, A/B test out the different paths to your goal to find what works for you, rest and reinvigorate your passion for blogging regularly, treat marketing seriously and most important stick at it, it definitely won’t be successful at any point. As with most things in life, with blogging you get back what you put in.

 

How ‘Bout You?

Are you happy with your blog growth or concerned that your visitor numbers are not increasing?

Do you know where you want to go with your blog or are you quite relaxed about wherever it takes you?

 

Wanna ask a blog question specifically about YOUR situation?

Make sure you come to Blog Surgery, free 1-2-1 blog tuition and advice.
Get your question ahead of the queue HERE.

27 comments

  1. Unfortunately I think most people who create blogs now (at least that I’ve seen) create them STRICTLY to make money only to give up after a couple of weeks because they aren’t rich yet. I love writing in general and I love meeting new people online and having awesome conversations about different topics. It’s really sad to see people treat blogging like a cash cow instead of actually enjoying the connection with others and coming in contact with new information.

    1. I don’t actually agree with one point you made. A blog is just a tool to use as it’s owner chooses to use it. So I personally don’t think it sad that it can actually be used as a ‘cash cow!’

      I DO think it’s sad that people don’t get the same enjoyment out of it that you obviously do. I think we both like the same things about blogging.
      There are so many clever ways to use it and as you say expecting to be a millionaire in one month isn’t one of them! πŸ™‚

      1. I have to agree with you there. I guess I just meant to say it’s a shame that a lot of bloggers create content only to make money, but then completely diss blogging entirely because they weren’t successful at getting what they wanted (or expected) from it.

        You know, the people that say “blogging isn’t a job. there’s no way you can make money from it because it didn’t work for me”.

        They give blogging a bad name. I do agree though, that why a blog is created and how it’s used is totally up to the blog owner.

      2. Ha! I’ve said the same so so many times. Lol. People say that about Twitter and Facebook too and anything they don’t understand and won’t put the graft in to understand either, so the easiest thing to do? Diss it. ‘Load of crap!’

        I’m excited to see where you take ‘Batches’ because it’s certainly one of those blog niches that could go wherever you want to go with it, although I know you enjoy writing for writings sake.

  2. I really needed to read this. I started a blog because my Facebook page really took off, but I’m having trouble building an audience here. We have 340 fans on Facebook, and 20 on WordPress. I know that things can move very quickly on Facebook, and that our audience might be a little different. That being said, I love your advice! I can’t wait to use your tips to grow my site!

    1. Yes you often find that audiences from different platforms tend to behave differently and you can start pulling your hair out wondering why before you just settle down and accept it.

      I have known very big social accounts that can’t replicate their success on the home website and of course many that can.

      You will probably find that you will have one set of audience building technique for wordpress and another for each social.

      But you can also do things like make your Facebook posts lead to your blog posts in a variety of ways. Say if you had a great giveaway, it would promoted on Facebook but only be accessible from your blog. This would help funnel your audience there.
      There’s quite a few things you can do so yes stick around for a variety of ideas coming this year. πŸ™‚

      Or right now you can join the Blogging Caucus and / or wait for an opportunity for free 1-2-1 tuition with my Blog Surgeries. The info for both is dotted around the blog or in the right hand column.

  3. I wish I can be an aggressive blogger. Hey someday I might! It’s not too late πŸ˜„

    also to get a big following among bloggers, I have to really work hard. Meaning, following them, reading their blogs, and establishing a relationship. Then one day they’re gone. They no longer blog so I must start again with others. I just don’t have that kind of time. Or patience. So I guess I will never be an aggressive blogger lol!!! 🀣

    1. It can indeed eat up time dear Boots, but if you say wanted to release a book that would be your incentive. I would think it would be much harder if you are using your blog to simply let off steam or express yourself.
      To reach somewhere you need to know where you are going.

  4. You already know my answer. It’s partial diary, partial blogging but hey I may only have a handful of readers but I still feel successful because I met you 😜

    Also, I haven’t opened it to everyone I know. I don’t share it in my Facebook where I know my fb friends and family will read. I just prefer that my blog is read by bloggers themselves. I’m just weird that way. But often I ask myself, why am I blogging? What’s the purpose Haha! The real reason is I don’t want to lose the ability to write and I am starting to forget things I’m afraid I’ll have dementia at an early age 😭

    1. Here’s the thing. I get it totally. I have other blogs that I have not mentioned here and vice versa and I have never used one successful blog to kick start another (although it makes total sense to do that). I don’t mix ’em! I guess like you I like to compartmentalize.

      I think it’s great. I love my relationship with bloggers like yourself where I’m privileged to go some parts of your journey with you. There’s been some hard times where we missed you in the blogosphere but you came back fighting and some funny times and some good times. Then your recent almost ‘re-birth’ into politics. That IS success, especially because it is giving you exactly what you want from it. But then I also like aggressive bloggers and money-makers and all the variants in between.
      And thank you for the compliment! πŸ™‚

  5. You start off mentioning different reasons to consider one’s blog successful but your posting focuses on ‘income’. You cast aside the thousands of bloggers like myself who write postings for personal satisfaction. Those same thousands like myself who would indeed like to see more people following their blog but are not focused on numbers or even know how to attract those additional followers, would love some suggestions.

    1. At the bottom of the article Pete there is a link that leads to a Bloggers Caucus which contains a variety of opportunities and ongoing ideas to attract additional followers.
      I also mention Blog Surgery. 1-2-1 tuition where you can ask specific questions about your personal and individual blogging journey…so how am I casting aside anyone??!!
      Also if you look around my blog you will see many articles on blogging so I’m a bit speechless really.

      I always say to my students, ‘I bring the toast but YOU have to put the butter on,’ meaning I can point you some of the way but Jeez Pete…

  6. Hi Madam Ed. I want to earn money from blogging. I’m not sure if I should blog on a range of topics, or stick to one. Anyhow, I’m trying to book a sesh with you, but I’m a bit stuck as to how to do this. The last one, as far as I can remember, was ‘opened’ on the day, and then one can book?? Is this right?

    Big love and thanks, you genius you!

    1. Lol. You’re killing me! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
      (In the nicest possible way!)

      Let’s take this one step at at time.
      1. Did you join the Bloggers Caucus because Daisy can’t see you there?

      Let’s assume no. πŸ™‚

      Click this link and put your email in here:
      http://www.thehomestyledirectory.com/subscribeblogge.html

      Follow the instructions until you get to a Mini Profile Page .

      It will say ‘HALLO!’ at the top.

      You will see a menu of lots of choices including where you can contact me for coaching at any time you wish.

      If you get stuck or lost, come back here and let me know!

      1. oh dear Madam Ed, I’ve submitted my email add a number of times, buy hey, perhaps I was on the wrong page! anythings possible with me, sadly! Thanks for the info. I’ll go and do that now. But hell I’ve sure I’ve already done this?? oh crap…. x x x

      2. oops just saw this. My usual ‘up’ time. 2.30am, and then I wonder why I miss the darn dustbin guys!! thanks x x

      3. OK seriously Madam Ed, I’ve just done this again.Same as I’ve done a few times, but it isn’t friendly!! It won’t take me to the HALLO page?? omg, I’m going back to bed, I say with tears in my eyes. What am I doing wrong??

      4. Oh I hope not re the tears. Because if you have sent your email off, then it is a technical problem with the people that deliver our mail so don’t get upset about that!
        That’s all it is and I’ll do some investigation and see what’s up. Sit tight. No tears!

  7. I have three blogs (one includes a podcast). They’re small but I have good interaction with people who I regard as friends from all over the world. Blogging is a hobby, it keeps me out of trouble and the friendships I’ve made make it worthwhile. In my mind that is a measure of success.

Leave a Reply

