The March

the-march

Like something from a century ago or indeed something from quite a few current cultures, women (and men) took to the streets on Saturday 21st January in opposition to the denigration of women and a divisive US president prone to eyebrow-raising misogyny amongst other things.

The March appears to represent a fluent meaning depending on who you talk to. To some it would have elicited a rather large yawn, probably accompanied by the usual, dismissive ‘stupid feminists, what do they think they’re going to achieve?’ to ‘Trump is president – get over it!’ suggesting it’s all about election disappointment – nothing more, nothing less. To the idea that this marks a beginning of consistent opposition to the counter productive backwards steps the new American administration is seen by many to be taking.

It would be difficult to argue against that point. We have a president that does not seem to be very presidential …a tack which clearly has it’s supporters. To recap:

  • He has spoken about grabbing women ‘by the pussy.’
  • He has spoken to a woman on prime time television about ‘blood coming out of her wherever…’
  • He has recalled with pride how he would burst into the changing rooms of the women taking part in his pageants whilst they were undressing, knowing that they would not dare demand he GTFO.
  • He is embroiled in a underage sex case.
  • He has grandly marked women’s physical appearance out of 10 with zero sense of irony or self awareness.
  • He has suggested that women who are not deemed attractive by him are lying when they say they were assaulted by him, not necessarily because he didn’t do it, but because of course only attractive women get sexually assaulted.
  • He tends to forget his wife whilst embracing his new role, barging ahead of her and leaving those with manners to guide her unnecessarily but with old fashioned gentlemanly grace into position. It’s all new for her too after all.

Those are just a few things we know about.

It’s plenty.

The numbers of women (people) who marched against Donald Trump rather embarrassingly dwarfed the people who turned up for his inauguration.

So?

What does it all mean for women and for the future?

Could we really brush aside Trumps comments as his most rabid fans have done as locker room banter?
Let’s face it. He is not lying. This kind of language, behaviour and sense of entitlement goes on in male environments and occasionally spills unchecked from the mouths of even the nicest of men, possibly in the same way sexist remarks spill from the mouths of women also when they are out with the girls. The thing is…they are not the President of the United States.

The Boss Man.

When the boss picks on someone, at work, at school, even at home, it is usually a signal by the weak-minded that it is okay to do the same. See the Stanford prison experiment. Lemmings develop a gang mentality that makes them behave in ways they would not behave on their own. It is this that makes Trumps behaviour alarming for the potential victims of his throwaway, irresponsible nonsense. The rise in attacks (on either side of the argument) bear this out whilst making the protest responses to it gratifying.

The protests show little sign of ending or focussing solely on his lack of respect for women…

So, School Me…

The March…What did it mean to YOU personally?…If anything.

23 comments

  1. Yes I think it still has the same effect. Protesting is just one of the many things they are doing, just to let the world know they aren’t sleeping. But there are many behind the scenes activities that they’re working on. I know because I’m part of that resistance. Lol!
    My blog is up. It is not my most favorite post and it’s not as exciting as my travel posts but I had to write it.

  2. I joined the march for several reasons! But I will save it for my upcoming post. πŸ™‚ (it’s taking me longer than expected to write about it but it’s almost finished).

    But I do have one thing to say to those who think protesting wasn’t going to do anything: you must be a white privileged American. America wouldn’t be where it is today if people stayed complacent.

    1. Well now! That hit the spot! πŸ™‚ I agree but I wonder if it has the same effect today as it did in the 1960’s bearing in mind how politrics, tech and people have changed. The battles may be the same but I wonder if the tactics need to be different?

      Having said that, I do believe that the amount of people who showed up must have had some effect at some level.

      Looking forward to reading your post.
      Please give me a heads up over time if you don’t mind, should I forget, just ‘cos I’m super super busy right now!

  3. Hi Madam Ed. Happily, I don’t watch anything to do with Politics, knowing that every single word that has ever sprouted and been spat out of a Politicians mouth, is a lie. A well orchestrated lie, told with such gusto, with a ‘promise’ of a gorgeous, easy, much better future for the ‘people’, who always fall for this bullshit, hook line and sinker, I could puke.

    I wrote a whole diatribe about what I feel about the Trump, but then deleted it, because really, in all sincerity, no amount of Marching, picketing, petitions, suicides etc, would make a dent in his psyche. He spewed, spat and won! I just don’t understand WHY the American public voted a Business man in as President.? To be honest, why did Bush win?? Hell, turn the telly off!

    Beats me, but game over!

    1. I’m feeling you with the whole writing a post and deleting it thing. Whereas Obama’s presidency had a feeling of hope spiraling over it, Trumps for many has the opposite. I see many who will march and protest but also many who will just give up in despair.
      As you say, this isn’t just a Trump thing, it is a stink that hangs over most politicians.
      “He spewed, spat and won.’ Lol, you do have a way with words. πŸ™‚

      1. πŸ™‚ They all beat to the same drum, dance the same dance, talk the same talk, but NEVER do they ever walk the talk…..

  4. What it means, dear Edith? That the entire world is in very deep sh.. Not just women. Not just America. The world. This… gentleman is a basket case (My ESTA is going down the drain as I write). His few dealings with other world leaders prove he has a short fuse. Or no fuse at all. A very delicate matter when one has the codes to half the world’s nuclear arsenal. As a “furner” who went to Grad school in the US, I say the March is just the beginning of a fight to kick him out. I also say that every one of his “decisions” must be challenged in court. State, Federal, appeals, whatever. Just challenge every decision in court. Until he bends.

      1. Electronic System for Travel Authorization. An almost visa for us frog furners. (Ah went ter Grad School at the Univershity of Alabamer, Tuscalooser. Roll tide!)

  5. It meant many things, but perhaps at that exact moment camaraderie was vital – the massive numbers of marches showed that there many, many people who are extremely concerned about the direction our country is taking. I didn’t march in opposition to President Trump, because whether I like it or not, he is still my President too. And because he is also my President, I marched in support of things I believe in – human rights, science, civility, compassion and tolerance. I will continue to march for these and other issues and I hope my President will take notice, and aim to unite, rather then divide, this country which is already great.

    1. Good points. Like it. I like this line, ‘because whether I like it or not, he is still my President’ because at the end of the day that is fact.
      I’d like to say he should be allowed to do the job he was voted in for, but Obama wasn’t allowed to so Trump will have to cope also with the opposition.
      I like also the clarity you have about your reason for marching. Nice one.

  6. I don’t recall any such marches when groper, sexual harasser, and rapist in chief Bill Clinton was president, and when his wife was leading vicious campaigns of vilification against his accusers. If there had been I might take the January 21 march seriously, but I don’t. It’s all just partisan politics.

    1. True, but I’d say it’s a different time. We didn’t have social networks to whip up feeling the way we have today. But yes I don’t recall such reactions with Clinton. Another thing is perhaps because the news was drip fed over a period of time while Clinton was initially denying the accusations which killed a lot of potential marching and protesting momentum.
      Didn’t happen with Clarence Thomas either – possibly for the same reason.

  7. I don’t really know enough about this to comment specifically but I will say many of Trumps views and behaviours are obnoxious and out of date and should be strongly opposed.

    The American electoral system is very complicated but in the end Trump is president. And it would be wrong (and incredibly unrealistic) to paint all supporters as idiots or racists or misogynists. That’s simply not the case.

    I’m pretty certain that in four years time we’ll see that back of Mr. Trump. Whether his legacy is so easily wiped away, I’m less sure.

  8. To me it meant little. I’m a woman. I feel much stronger, equal here– much more so than I felt as a Japanese housewife. I also resent attaching sexual orientation to women’s issues. That is just me being honest. The marriage thing, if that’s an issue, work on that separate from woman’s issues. I thought marches were too kitchen sink.

Leave a Reply

