Blue Pill Red Pill

the-cunning-conundrum-3

bprp-jail2

29 comments

  1. Lol. The creaking system never eeks out the truth-that’s why it’s a creaking system!!! This is a toughy since I’m a person of faith and would like to believe that it would all work out in my son’s favor with the choice to believe him when he shared that he didn’t do it. However, the other part of meLol would-Hmmm. Probably let him out and if he were recaptured-have him say that the key wound up near his cell and that he was able to get it.

  2. Oh totes take the Red Pill and head for the hills quickly! How exciting!

    Why? Because in a sleepy town, with nothing better to do than arrest someone, making this the highlight of his miserable year, my Son would definitely be locked up and the key thrown away. We could always get the truth out of him when back to ‘safety’ and IF he did do what he was accused of, then as his Parents, deal with him accordingly. Besides, I LOVE Bonnie and Clyde!

    Sleepy towns are dodgy. I lived in one once, back in Africa, and holy smokes, to get an ARREST!!! hell, the Sheriff might get a medal that his fishwife has been whining about at him for yonks. ‘YOU’RE NO GOOD’! she yells constantly, so this is his BIG break!

    HA! you screwed with the wrong peeps Sheriff. You lose AGAIN……sigh….

    .

    1. Ha! YOU get it! 🙂 It’s the sleepy town thing where justice is highly unlikely for all your reasons and more.
      I think I’d head for the hills also. Another reason being that because it’s a low budget sleepy town, the likelihood of them looking for you is low.

  3. Even if he didn’t do it breaking him out of jail is, in and of itself a crime, that definitely DID happen and they will know exactly who did it because you were called to the jail (and are we pretending that there are no surveillance cameras?) So now instead of one problem you have two problems and, unlike your son, you are not a minor and are subject to adult laws. Additionally, he probably did have something to do with what happened, one way or another. It’s unlikely that was just walking down the street and arbitrarily got arrested for stabbing a waiter.
    Just my two cents!

  4. I’d ring a lawyer and camp out at the police station. Maybe he did it, maybe he didn’t but we would definitely have broken the law if we skipped town – which wouldn’t do any of us any good.

    I know, I know. I’m the type of person who hands in lost property and crosses the road at the lights too.

      1. Well Archibald, given your past travels, you must be very familiar with the African experience of traffic lights that actually work (surprisingly) only no one pays any attention to them whatsoever.

      2. Absolutely. Same here in Mexico. I always wonder why they bother to put them at all. (The reason is that traffic lights are generally a very successful business of a third cousin of a high-ranking official in the local government)

      3. “A rebel with traffic lights” yes YES .… I am an outlaw – no longer will I be held hostage by the color of a traffic light. I am not talking about running traffic lights – that is dangerous and stupid. I am talking about waiting for a light to turn green when there are no cars visible in any direction. This is especially true for the left turn arrow, but true for red lights in general. Traffic lights are there to control traffic, but what if there is NO traffic. We are better than the traffic lights we submit to. Rise up and claim you superiority.

  5. Never a good idea to break the law no matter how small or foreign the town. If you do, you go to jail too. Call a lawyer, get all the details of what happened from police and your teenager and a witness, if possible to prove innocence. Remain calm and polite and wait for the lawyer to show up.

    1. I know, I know – it sounds good on paper…lol. But then I think of all those based-on-a-true story rainy afternoon films I’ve seen with the huge miscarriages of justice where the innocent victim stays rotting in a foreign jail begging their government for help and they do nothing for years!

  6. Too many variables. I have three sons. If the oldest or youngest said he didn’t do it, I believe him implicitly. The middle son? I don’t know. Am I capable of stealing the key, letting my son out of the jail, and running away, yes. Would I do so in this instance, I don’t know. At the very least I need a very good lawyer. I’m more likely to be sure of finding one close to home. Let him out, run home, find the good lawyer? One thing I won’t/don’t do is let him out and pretend it never happened. Thank goodness I’m not in that situation is all I can say for sure.

    1. Ha. Well thought out. Perhaps it’s one of those crazy spur of the minute things that you do and then say later ‘What on earth did I just do?’
      Plus I’m glad you came I was doing my rounds yesterday and couldn’t find your link in my list. Weird.

  7. I’m trying to come up with a response, but it pains me to think about this conundrum. It reminds me of the movie, “My Cousin Vinny,” where a lawyer got the boys out but just barely. Funny movie. Scary reality.

Leave a Reply

