The Dust Has Settled…

drumpfSo the dust has settled, (sorta!) and America has a new president. Far from having a favourite in the run up to the election, I watched with amazement at the choices, the behaviours, the immaturity and the mud slinging and not for the first (or last) time I was ass-clenchingly embarrassed to be human.

That aside I had a few questions that kept running though my mind. See if you can help answer them:

  • Why is it that everyone else is thrown on the scrap heap by at least 50 these days and yet, if you are (usually) male and white you are deemed capable of starting the most powerful job in America…or in the world at the age of 70? Winston Churchill retired at 80 for goodness sake.

 

  •  Why was Hilary repeatedly taken to task for the wrong doings of her husband? Highly misogynist no? That’s like going to a job interview and they keep referring to my husband over my little female head.

Her husband shagged lots of women. Not her. What were her accusers suggesting she do? Leave her husband to please them? Why the hell should she, anymore than any woman who stays in a marriage when she knows her husband is an oaf? I found that so strange…as if there wasn’t enough else to be horrified by.

  •  Not so much a question but a thought… The thing that is great about America is also what is kinda crazy about America. ANYone can be president.

 

  • Just how much stink eye do you imagine is currently being cut in the Clinton household right now, bearing in mind that at least one of the reasons we are not talking about the new President Clinton today is because of the rank behaviour of the previous President Clinton?

 

  • And to wind up on a positive note, Trump shows that anything is possible. If he had joked about the presidency and then did nothing about it, he’d be watching it on television like everyone else. You have to be in it to win it.

So, crazy, crazy election. Strange week. Strange year. Can you answer any of my questions or sum it up…at all?

What Say You?!

 

80 comments

  1. Well, yeah… nope, can’t answer them really. And the one about Hillary being attacked for the behavior of Bill Clinton is a big one in my books too. Seems like women are responsible for the behavior of their men… who knows but totally crazy. And you are right, it’s truly a great thing about America that anything is possible even if it seems so highly impossible…

      1. No, I just meant there was a typo in my texts. I wrote past year when I meant past years. I’ve been observing that for maybe 15 years. The 49.5 vs 50.5% election results. In many countries.

      2. No, no. Not a farthing. You were given exclusive rights for the use of “YUK” over all the British Isles, including the Channel islands but excluding the Isle of Man. I can use for free. 🙂

  2. Sum it up all dear Edith? 🙂 Ok. Here it goes. In most elections world wide over the past year, results almost always come up at 50.5 vs 49.5 or vice-versa. Repeatedly. Statiscally this resembles the flipping of coin. I never bothered to gather the data but I expect the correlation between election results and coin-flipping would be close to 1. What would that mean? That a majority of voters, when voting, simply toss a mental coin. Hence polls fail. And so democracy may have been reduced to coin-tossing.
    Have a lovely week-end, dear. (And I agree with all or most your statements) 😉

    1. Interesting… do you not think dear Bertie that people were more vociferous than that?
      I mean I get the feeling the people constantly ignored and stuck in the middle really had had enough of the same ol’ same ol’.

      1. Agreed about the vociferousness. This trend is recent, 5-6 years I guess. The coin-flipping is just a theory which I think covers a significant percentage of voters. Meanwhile, the problems are not addressed and get bigger and bigger. There have been many violent protests in France throughout the year. Violence is so easy a route to take. (And so useless) 😦

      2. Not just thinking, the complete ‘infantilisation’ of society. I sometimes read newspapers and cannot believe the immature rubbish allowed to go to print.
        ‘So and so broke up with her boyfriend and now she is wearing her hair parting on the other side to show him what he is missing.’
        ‘So and so called someone else a name.’ – Headline news!
        If I gave a damn anymore I’d despair.

      3. Grown-up men in the summer dress like little boys: shorts, T-shit and flip-flops. I love the “parting hair on the other side thing.” I wish I could think you just made it up, but I’m sure this is real. 😦 Aw. shucks. Ask your man-servant to bring you a glass of Sherry, Adelaïde. And we can toast the ashes of the Empire… 😉

      4. I would dear Oswald, only those flip flops he’s recently taken to wearing… 😦

        But I have to say I will be taking to my bed early again dear Ossie. I’m sure I don’t know what kind of crowd you are ‘hanging’ (as I’ve heard these young things say) with these days. The very idea of someone who comes round for my genteel sherry evenings wearing a ‘T-shit’ has made me quite faint.

        That’s twice this year Oswald! 😯
        The doctor has been called…I’ve rung for smelling salts. I’m sure I will be fine in a week…

  3. Hillary embarrassed America by her behaviours in the White House all by herself! She left our service men out to be raped and killed. That is why I did not vote for her!

    He was not my desired choice. He was all that was left that I could stomach!

  4. I’m more interested and upset that Leonard Cohen has passed away to be honest. I didn’t watch all the mud slinging as I don’t care zip about it or them. To me, they are just puppets anyway, who get told what to do by the Elite.

    For a hotel owner to be President is nothing short of funny. America is NOT the land of the free and brave. What a crock. They are warmongers, and extremely arrogant about who they are as a Country etc….Mostly they just annoy me. So, when dealing with a Country that, in my opinion, holds a very low I.Q. all round, I’m not at all surprised.

    Poor old Hillary should put on her apron and bake. It’s SO over for her, and yes, thanks to the oaf’s activities when he was in Office. Even the Kennedy’s have turned tale, and take it back to Marilyn and what REALLY happened to her?

    SO much history of darkness in that horrible Country, I’m just deeply grateful I don’t live there. I mean the Police have the same powers as the army. They arrest and detain, specifically people of colour, for no reason that is valid.

    In short, what is so great about America? They consume 70% of the worlds wealth and commodities, food etc, and only contribute 30%.

    Have fun Trump! Build a few more hotels, coz God knows you’ll be paid enough. As I switch OFF my TV set. 🙂

    1. Amen my dear to your first paragraph. Been saying it for ages. Can’t believe people actually think a president has real power.

      I can’t disagree with much of what you said and always look forward to the way you say it lol.

      1. I cannot believe that people actually believe that their ‘vote’ means anything!! Good grief, if people don’t know by now, that it’s all sorted long before they all go hysterically to the Polls, then I give up! I mean, people on FB are actually CRYING over this stupid debacle. Yeah, they actually believe that ol’ orange is the new black, will ‘ruin’ their already screwed up Country! Seems they forgot about BUSH, and all that, that was very well orchestrated. It just annoys me, so I ignore as much as I can, till my friends are howling at the ‘horror’. LOL, they already live in horror, they just cannot see it! War veterans sleeping on the streets, oh I could go on forever, but then again, I’m dead against War, so best shut up now. 🙂

  5. I think the dust has far from settled. This is far from over. Trumps rhetoric over his campaign has riled up a significant portion of the American population and not only that he has also riled up a significant portion of the world. Divisiveness is never a good thing and he won on divisiveness. Less than half the country however, voted for the man who bragged about committing sexual assault on tape, who said he would appoint Supreme Court justices who would overturn Roe v. Wade, who thinks women who have legal abortions should be punished, who has promised to undo legislation that has afforded health insurance to millions of uninsured Americans, whose parental leave plan is a joke, who has spent his campaign dehumanizing nonwhite people, who has spent 30-plus years in the public eye reducing women to their sexual attributes, who mocked a disabled reporter, who slagged of John McCain because he was captured and is therefore not a hero in his book… is actually beyond me. He wants to build a wall and throw illegal immigrants in America already, out – he wants to keep muslims out, he wants to tear up trade agreements, get Nato countries to pay for America’s services, reinstate a larger army, close borders, and lots of other things I can’t rightly remember right now, because my head is spinning too much from all this. The rest of the world is watching right now. And it is uneasy. But his sentiments for whatever reason touched a nerve with a significant portion of the population. America is at a crossroads right now. Do you want to go back towards the stone age – or continue moving forward. Disenfranchised members of your country voted for Trump, I think one needs to find out why? And fix that…. before the dust can truly settle.

    1. The dust I referred to PP was the actual electoral result, not the shockwaves. That we have a long, long journey to make sandwiches for!

      Yes I think people voted for the things you said but humans are too complex to have answers in straight lines. I think the problem also lay in the disenfranchisement of the forgotten people in the middle who seem to bear the brunt of everybody else’s choices and behaviours. i.e the very wealthy elite and the very poor. I think Michael Moore predicted it and summed it up very well.
      http://michaelmoore.com/trumpwillwin/

  6. Hey Ed,
    memorable times (not for great reasons) interesting questions, here’s my answers:

    1. White, male and over 50. This is the way that a lot of human beings see (read: imagine) God. If we go down to just: “male and over 50” then I think we’re close to describing God for 100% of the human race. I reckon this plays a part in the way the world reveres old men (white or not).

    2. Counter question (which I’m actually going to steal from “Sex and the city”):
    A man shags a lot of women and he’s a stud. A stud is a very good thing to be.
    A woman shags a lot of men and she’s a slut. A slut is a very bad thing to be.
    Why do we think this way? It’s totally unfair.

    3. Hilary must be mightily pissed of with Bill. But I also think that Hilary should also be cutting a lot of stink-eye at white American women. Talk about getting stabbed in the back.

    4. True. You almost can’t blame Trump, he played his cards and he won. He’s a muppet, but he’s an audacious muppet.

    Can I sum this up?
    I think I (and a lot of other people who see this like I do) have to prepare to roll with the punches for a while.
    After Brexit, I knew (deep down in my heart) that a Trump Presidency was probably going to happen. I’m not at all optimistic about the next 6-12 months, but bring ’em on anyway. I’m not quitting!

    1. 2. I believe it is from the dark ages where a paternalistic society simply made rules that favoured them and these rules have stuck over the centuries in different strengths varying by culture.

      3. Generally speaking, women are not noted for supported other women the way men support other men – even if they are in the wrong. This too is as old as time itself.

      Yep. That’s the right attitude. There’s frankly nothing new under the sun. Any animosity that overspills has always been there. One must be prepared to deal with it and roll with the punches.

      Thanks Yomi. Good points.

  7. “Why is it that everyone else is thrown on the scrap heap by at least 50 these days and yet, if you are (usually) male and white you are deemed capable of starting the most powerful job in America…or in the world at the age of 70? Winston Churchill retired at 80 for goodness sake.”

    Experience. Wisdom.

    ” Why was Hilary repeatedly taken to task for the wrong doings of her husband? Highly misogynist no? That’s like going to a job interview and they keep referring to my husband over my little female head.”

    She wasn’t. She was being accused of covering up sexual assaults that her husband may have committed.

    “Just how much stink eye do you imagine is currently being cut in the Clinton household right now, bearing in mind that at least one of the reasons we are not talking about the new President Clinton today is because of the rank behaviour of the previous President Clinton?”

    I get the feeling that most people respected Bill as a President. I think you’re not talking about a new Clinton Pres because she felt entitled to the post, ran a bad campaign, cheated Bernie, is awash in scandal and people didn’t trust her.

    “Her husband shagged lots of women. Not her. What were her accusers suggesting she do?”

    Most that I read said they think she stayed because she wanted to retain the Clinton name for political reasons. Not because she genuinely loved her wayward husband.

    Cheers!

    1. Lol. You say, ‘Experience. Wisdom’ as though you didn’t watch any of the electoral run up. Plus why is that same experience and wisdom you speak of not valued in everyday jobs? That was the question.

      Hilary – yes she was accused of what you said but she was also brow beaten about the misdeeds of her husband. I’ll say it again, did you not watch any of the electoral debates? Lol.

      Ooogh do tell – how did she cheat Bernie? I was not on board at that point.

      But to the rest of the accusations:

      ‘she felt entitled to the post, ran a bad campaign, cheated Bernie, is awash in scandal and people didn’t trust her.’
      – All of this could be said about Trump – apart from the Bernie one.

      So people trusted a man who took multiple companies to billions in bankruptcy? Said the things he said regarding women and a host of other people he offended? Cheated on multiple wives? Won’t reveal his tax information. Evaded fighting for his country. Had one wife admit he was violent towards her then she conveniently couldn’t remember saying it? Speaks like an immature eight year old girl on Twitter, is also awash with scandal and would you be suggesting he ran a GOOD campaign?!
      (We of course now know the answer is yes!)

      Re Hilary and her marriage:
      If she stayed to retain the Clinton name surely that is her prerogative. Did she not work for it as much as he did?

      Who would still genuinely love someone who repeatedly cheated on them? Do we know if Melania REALLY still loves The Donald, or has she stayed because she likes the money and the prospect of the new title?

      What business is it of anyone else’s why she chose to stay with her husband? It just proves my point about misogyny. A man who cheats on multiple wives and – correct me if I’m wrong – it was not brought up (if at all) as much as President Clinton’s misdeeds were used to harangue the wife who (as far as we know) did not cheat at all.

      I know it might sound like I’m siding, but nope, I just like fairness.

      Bring it! Lol.
      Plus I want to hear about the Bernie thing!

      1. “Lol. You say, ‘Experience. Wisdom’ as though you didn’t watch any of the electoral run up.”

        No. Like I answered your question.

        “Plus why is that same experience and wisdom you speak of not valued in everyday jobs?”

        They are in some.

        “Hilary – yes she was accused of what you said but she was also brow beaten about the misdeeds of her husband. I’ll say it again, did you not watch any of the electoral debates? Lol.”

        Yes I did. Both candidates were grilled about their personal lives. That’s part of the problem. To pretend it only happened to one is dishonest.

        “Ooogh do tell – how did she cheat Bernie? I was not on board at that point.”

        The DNC colluded to put Hillary as the nominee, even though Bernie was the more popular candidate. It was big news and information about it is easy to find.

        “– All of this could be said about Trump – apart from the Bernie one.”

        Yeah. So? And people decided that they trusted Trump more and elected him. You may have decided differently, but not everyone thinks like you.

        And no, Trump didn’t go around saying vote for him because he was a man and a Clinton.

        “So people trusted a man who took multiple companies to billions in bankruptcy? Said the things he said regarding women and a host of other people he offended? Cheated on multiple wives? Won’t reveal his tax information. Evaded fighting for his country. Had one wife admit he was violent towards her then she conveniently couldn’t remember saying it? Speaks like an immature eight year old girl on Twitter, is also awash with scandal and would you be suggesting he ran a GOOD campaign?!
        (We of course now know the answer is yes!)”

        He ran a lackluster campaign but he was able to win because Hillary ran a worse one. We could play the game of who was worse all day, but for some people, Hillary was worse and that’s how they voted.

        “Re Hilary and her marriage:
        If she stayed to retain the Clinton name surely that is her prerogative. Did she not work for it as much as he did?”

        Sure it’s her perogative and its other peoples prerogative to criticize her for it because they thought she kept it merely for political reasons. Personally, I don’t care what name she has, but that doesn’t mean others don’t.

        “What business is it of anyone else’s why she chose to stay with her husband? It just proves my point about misogyny. A man who cheats on multiple wives and – correct me if I’m wrong – it was not brought up (if at all) as much as President Clinton’s misdeeds were used to harangue the wife who (as far as we know) did not cheat at all.”

        Yes it was brought up. In fact, the media and public did everything short of saying he molested his own child. I thought you wanted to be fair?

        All it takes to literally hate women is to question why she stayed with a cheating husband? That’s a good way of cheapening the word so it means practically nothing at all. It’s this sort of smearing that led to Trump winning. The Left just calls out ‘ism’ or ‘phobia’ whenever someone disagrees with them, instead of actually talking about policy.

        Face it, Hillary lost because she was a bad candidate. She was establishment at a time when people are tired of establishment politics.

        “I know it might sound like I’m siding, but nope, I just like fairness.”

        Cool. Then you’re going to have to fairly assess how the Democrats lost this election to a man-child who can barely string a sentence together without repeating words. Screaming misogyny isn’t going to achieve that. Hell, a huge chunk of women voted for Trump and only 1% less voted for Trump than they did for the 2012 candidate, despite the ‘grab them’ tape. Are all of those women misogynists to or could the answer have something to do with the Lefts smug elitism and their stupid idea to run an establishment candidate?

        Adrienne Morris below said it quite nicely.

        I’m Canadian so I have no horse in the race. I disliked both candidates but I can easily see why Trump won.

      2. You say – “Both candidates were grilled about their personal lives”

        I say – yes but Hilary was also attacked repeatedly for the deviant behaviour of her husband, which is less her life and wrong doing and more her husbands. The point is I have never known a male presidential candidate taken to task for his wife’s behaviour to that degree (and let me clarify here that I mean by the opponent in the debates – I wasn’t talking about the press). Again, do correct me if I’m wrong.

        You say – “Yeah. So? And people decided that they trusted Trump more and elected him. You may have decided differently, but not everyone thinks like you.”

        I say – I didn’t have to decide anything about trusting either of them. It’s not my country! It’s just conversation. This is merely a vehicle to pick others brains – because I’m happy to admit I do not have the answers when I don’t.
        I don’t actually think everyone thinks like me, but what a chilled world that would be! 🙂
        The clue is in the ‘What Say You?’ at the end of every blog and the fact that I pose everything as a query to access what other people think.

        You say – “Cool. Then you’re going to have to fairly assess how the Democrats lost this election to a man-child who can barely string a sentence together without repeating words. Screaming misogyny isn’t going to achieve that.”

        I say – Interesting turn of phrase, ‘screaming misogyny’ in reaction to merely querying if misogyny played a part. (Just a thought: if you were discussing this with me and I was an NFL football player, I wonder if you would have phrased it that way? – Maybe you would – maybe you wouldn’t. Whatevs. Just…interesting.)
        I’m slightly bemused though, in which part of the blog did I suggest, infer or state that, (I’ll use this word instead,) by QUERYING about misogyny I would achieve a fair assessment as to why the democrats lost? This was merely referencing a singular topic that you picked up on and I answered back.

        You say – Hell, a huge chunk of women voted for Trump and only 1% less voted for Trump than they did for the 2012 candidate, despite the ‘grab them’ tape. Are all of those women misogynists…

        I say – I don’t know them so I don’t know if they were, but it cannot be ruled out, as they are as likely to be misogynist as not. I would suggest however that anyone who would vote for someone with Trump’s opinions of women might harbour a few issues with women.

        You say – Then you’re going to have to fairly assess how the Democrats lost this election ..”

        I say – Of course I want to be fair, but nope! I cannot fairly assess anything of the sort. As I didn’t have to vote, I followed it all with the divided attention of an outsider which is why I ask people to answer questions that yes, I am more than capable of finding online, but that would not really aid a blog conversation/debate. Plus when I respect someone’s opinion I want THEIR take, not Wikipedia’s.

        You say -‘Yes it was brought up. In fact, the media and public did everything short of saying he molested his own child. I thought you wanted to be fair?’

        I say – I did not say Trumps bad behaviour was not brought up, I said not ‘as much.’ I also said ‘correct me if I’m wrong’ – can’t get much fairer than that! Particularly as, whilst joshing with you about whether you watched it, I KNOW I did not watch every instance of every debate (and I’ll clarify again that when referring to the bringing up the histories of the 2, I meant during the debates between the 2 opponents – not the press.)

        You say – All it takes to literally hate women is to question why she stayed with a cheating husband? That’s a good way of cheapening the word so it means practically nothing at all. It’s this sort of smearing that led to Trump winning.

        I say – I wouldn’t know. It’s not my argument, I don’t recall suggesting this.

        You say – The Left just calls out ‘ism’ or ‘phobia’ whenever someone disagrees with them, instead of actually talking about policy.

        I say – I’ll have to take your word for it. I merely made an enquiry.

      3. You say: “I say – yes but Hilary was also attacked repeatedly for the deviant behaviour of her husband, which is less her life and wrong doing and more her husbands. ”

        No. They were attacking her for possibly covering up for his behavior – namely possible sexual assault and rape.

        You say: “I say – I didn’t have to decide anything about trusting either of them. It’s not my country! It’s just conversation. ”

        Haha. Fair enough. I’m the same way as I think you know, but just for the record, this conversation isn’t a personal thing. I like your blog very much and read posts as soon as they hit my reader. 🙂

        You said: “I say – Interesting turn of phrase, ‘screaming misogyny’ in reaction to merely querying if misogyny played a part. (Just a thought: if you were discussing this with me and I was an NFL football player, I wonder if you would have phrased it that way?) ”

        What would your profession have to do with it?

        I’m confused?

        You said: ” I’m slightly bemused though, in which part of the blog did I suggest, infer or state that, (I’ll use this word instead,) by QUERYING about misogyny I would achieve a fair assessment as to why the democrats lost?”

        This part – “Why was Hilary repeatedly taken to task for the wrong doings of her husband? Highly misogynist no? ”

        It implies that misogyny was the reason why she was taken to task and that helped bring about her defeat.

        A majority of women voted for Trump.

        You said: “I would suggest however that anyone who would vote for someone with Trump’s opinions of women might harbour a few issues with women.”

        I find that opinion to be blatantly ridiculous and narrow minded. You honestly think that 53% of the women who voted for Trump hate their own sex? Really?

        You said: ” I did not say Trumps bad behaviour was not brought up at all, I said not ‘as much.’ I also said ‘correct me if I’m wrong.’”

        It was brought up non-stop. Very rarely did the media cover policy positions. They just hammered away at his character.

      4. You say: “I say – yes but Hilary was also attacked repeatedly for the deviant behaviour of her husband, which is less her life and wrong doing and more her husbands. ”
        No. They were attacking her for possibly covering up for his behavior – namely possible sexual assault and rape

        – Again I am referring to Trump. HE was attacking her for her husbands misdeeds. I am aware that others were ‘attacking her for possibly covering up his behaviour’, some have even mentioned it in the comments here. Again, I am referring to the debate. Don’t know how else to make this clearer to be honest. I agree with what you say about the press and public, but that is not what I was referring to.

        You say: “I say – I didn’t have to decide anything about trusting either of them. It’s not my country! It’s just conversation. ”
        Haha. Fair enough. I’m the same way as I think you know, but just for the record, this conversation isn’t a personal thing. I like your blog very much and read posts as soon as they hit my reader.

        – You got me! Same here. And if you can ‘bring it’ in debate like this and we still remain online chums, (plus the added bonus of Duke and Dexter!), it would not be possible to love what you do and admire you more.

        You said: “I say – Interesting turn of phrase, ‘screaming misogyny’ in reaction to merely querying if misogyny played a part. (Just a thought: if you were discussing this with me and I was an NFL football player, I wonder if you would have phrased it that way?) ”
        What would your profession have to do with it?
        I’m confused?

        – Nah. I’m leaving it then. Re time shortage. Maybe we’ll come back to it at some point.

        You said: ” I’m slightly bemused though, in which part of the blog did I suggest, infer or state that, (I’ll use this word instead,) by QUERYING about misogyny I would achieve a fair assessment as to why the democrats lost?”
        This part – “Why was Hilary repeatedly taken to task for the wrong doings of her husband? Highly misogynist no? ”
        It implies that misogyny was the reason why she was taken to task and that helped bring about her defeat.
        A majority of women voted for Trump.

        – Nope. YOU tagged on the implication. Not I sir! ‘It implies that misogyny was the reason why she was taken to task, (yes) and that helped bring about her defeat.’ (No.)
        That’s some ‘YUGE’ extrapolation going on there! That, like all the other bullet points was an isolated observation about Trump attacking the opposite candidate via her husband. I did not conclude that is why she lost.

        You said: “I would suggest however that anyone who would vote for someone with Trump’s opinions of women might harbour a few issues with women.”
        I find that opinion to be blatantly ridiculous and narrow minded. You honestly think that 53% of the women who voted for Trump hate their own sex? Really?

        No, much as I enjoy being blatantly ridiculous and narrow minded on occasion, this isn’t one of them. Read what I said again. ‘ I don’t know them so I don’t know if they were misogynists, but it cannot be ruled out…I would SUGGEST that anyone who would vote for someone with Trump’s opinions of women MIGHT harbour a few issues with women.
        An opinion is not quite the same as a suggestion.

        I don’t think a large percentage of women are incapable of having issues with their own sex at all. (Note YOU said hate. I did not). I’m also not suggesting that all 53% had issues with Hilary for the exact same reason. Now that WOULD be silly Godless.

        I have been involved in a lot of quite general surveys and focus groups over the years and found that the largest ‘haters’ of women in those surveys were actually women. That’s just MY experience and I have raised the issue in this blog a few times. So no, it wouldn’t surprise me in the slightest if a large proportion of the female voters have issues with other women generally and in this case had issues with another woman holding the presidential seat in place of a man. Although I’m going to have to remind you that I am not saying that this is why she lost.

        You said: ” I did not say Trumps bad behaviour was not brought up at all, I said not ‘as much.’ I also said ‘correct me if I’m wrong.’”
        It was brought up non-stop. Very rarely did the media cover policy positions. They just hammered away at his character.

        – Again, I was not talking about the media – I was referring to the debate between the 2. But regarding the media I’m sure you are right.
        Equally Trump had the option during the debates of taking the high road and focussing on policy rather than bringing Clinton’s alleged rape victims and Obama’s bro to the debates and showboating that he was going to attack Clinton’s husband as a key debating strategy. Just an observation, not forwarded as an argument to your point.

      5. “ou got me! Same here. And if you can ‘bring it’ in debate like this and we still remain online chums, (plus the added bonus of Duke and Dexter!), it would not be possible to love what you do and admire you more.”

        You can count on it. I don’t get offended easily and my GF will tell you I live for controversy and debate. LOL

        “Note YOU said hate. I did not”

        Misogyny literally means hatred of women.

        I think the rest is pretty much just opinion and semantics. 🙂 I thank you for the conversation though. It’s appreciated.

      6. You’re welcome. I’ll be over to stir up some trouble at some point. I’m just knackered right now. But there was lots I ticked to read when I dropped by recently and I bet there’s been lots more added since!

  8. I found that weird too, that she had to answer questions about her husbands infidelity – what does that have to do with her being president? Although, I don’t think that had anything to do with her not becoming president.

    Do you know what else gave me the absolute shits? When she didn’t win the election the media kept talking about it like it was failure for women kind. I’m am positive that some people didn’t vote for her because she’s a women, just like there will have been people who didn’t vote for Obama because he’s African American, but did that decide the election? I don’t think so.

    And I don’t think her personal failure says anything about the role of women in society, the perceptions of women in society or the future place of girls in the wider community. Hilary Clinton is certainly not a good representative of all women.

    Most importantly, I think talking about everything in terms of gender is damaging to women. It’s just another way of making our thoughts, ideas and capabilities secondary to our gender. I’d like to see a woman as president but because she’s capable and visionary and talented. Not because she has a vagina.

    Arrg! And arrg again! (Now I sound like a pirate. But I stand by it.)

    1. Ay me laddie! Lol. Yep I wasn’t having any of that ‘must have a woman president’ – just wanted someone who merits the job. Although frankly it has obviously never been an even playing field and plenty of previous male presidents hardly attained the position on merit, I think you said it well,
      ‘It’s just another way of making our thoughts, ideas and capabilities secondary to our gender.’

      1. Oh. My auto-redirect thing expired. My new address is wendyallott.wordpress.com. I’ve been trying to make myself more findable if I ever do get published so I wanted an address with my actual name in it.

        Don’t stop coming by. You’re my favourite visitor.

  9. Hillary was taken to task because she refused to accept that she shouldn’t run for president because she is a woman. We know almost every sordid detail of her life because of the 30 year witch hunt she’s been subjected to, yet we don’t even know where our president elect gets funding for his business ventures.

    I’ve grown up Black in the South, and I wouldn’t trade places with her because of how she’s treated. Today, there are reports that Russia has been communicating with the Trump campaign all along yet I bet we hear nothing about it from the FBI other than the sound of it being swept under the rug.

    It’s been a crazy year for sure. I’m afraid that it’s only the beginning of a crazy era in American history.

      1. I don’t want to depress you or your readers, but take a look at Shaun King’s Twitter feed when you have time. I don’t think there’s enough WTF’S to cover the next 4 years.

  10. I say your “not having a favourite” was exactly the problem, exactly the massive error of false equivalency that gave it to Trump and his ultra right-wing coup-mates. When one candidate is so clearly a genetic dictator, your attitude gets no clemency. If you can’t see what he is, and you’re an American, you are the problem. I don’t think you’re American, but that was the problem.

    1. Do you think this is what led to people voting for Harambe? Aside from the people who thought they were being really funny – but for some there was just lack of real choice?
      Because I’m sitting here thinking which one is meant to be the genetic dictator?

      1. it’s so sad that so many people can’t see Trump for the obvious sociopath that he is – I mean, I know, they all are – still, there’s an order of magnitude difference between Trump and functional human beings. Women, dogs and children all run screaming from him. If you watch TV, you’ve seen enough to know how disordered he is, you’ve seen him and to say what you say is hard to understand. Do you have a lot of psychopaths in your life or something? Have you not heard him speak?

      2. To want to be the president there has to be something slightly out of the norm with anyone.
        I don’t want to judge people that I don’t really know but I recognize what seems to be something of a personality disorder there in Trump, which I had not seen over the years of watching him on TV.
        But I also find something weird that I can’t put my finger on about Hilary if I’m honest.
        I don’t know if I have psycopaths in my life because they are usually quite adept as hiding their psycopathy.

      3. this is and has been a total The Emperor has no Clothes situation. I’m sorry, but anyone who can’t see the difference between Trump and human beings is either an idiot or a lying racist fascist. Why you gotta pretend everything’s normal when it’s not?

      4. putting those two candidates in the same category normalizes Trump. I didn’t say you said everything was normal, I said why do people pretend Trump is normal? That has been the central lie of this whole campaign, that they’re “both bad” when one is Hitler and one is Merkel.

      5. Okay. I bow to your location based authority over mine as I really did not scrutinize every minute of the race – or the 2 runners enough to call them out in YOUR way.
        Although I didn’t get that they think he is normal. I got that WHATEVER he is his supporters (on the whole) didn’t care.

      6. I’m sorry for the ‘tude. I can’t face the world in which this election happened, it’s just too awful, I can hardly look at any media since Tuesday. But that absolutely was the central lie to the campaign, that they’re “both” anything, that anyone could possibly share Trump’s level of lying, for one, or his level of disorder generally. That anyone can look at those two people and say “she is the liar of the two” is horrible, depressing and shows that the voters aren’t up to their responsibility, that they’re choosing him FOR his psychopathy.

        Again, I’m sorry for the reality check.

      7. No, I agree it’s a worrying turn of events.
        Trump said himself that he could shoot a bunch of people and his voters would still vote for him.
        He has lied blatantly with footage to prove it. They still voted for him.
        The sexual deviance stuff. They still voted for him.
        The bankruptcies and multiple failed business ventures. They still voted for him.
        The unfaithfulness to his wives. They still voted for him.
        The tax stuff, the evading fighting in the war whilst mocking those who did. They still voted for him.

        I can’t see what more it would have taken.
        I was a fan from back in the day but as more revelations came out I was appalled.
        I have to admit to knowing less about Hilary so I can’t make a judgement there I’m afraid.

        We’ll just have to let it play out as there is little option.

      8. thanks. Pretty sure all they have on Hillary is that she’s as bad as the rest, or nearly so. This story of her history of accusations is the Right’s story – their endless accusations and then them saying “look at the accusations!”

  11. I think the reason Hilary is brought to task over Bill is because she shows about the same respect for victims of sexual assault as her husband. She sought to ruin the lives of some of the women who were sexually assaulted by her husband and joked (it’s on audio) about trying to destroy a 12 year old girl’s credibility after the girl was beaten, raped and put in a coma. Hilary defended the rapist (someone has to) but attacking the girl goes too far.

    Men and women old enough to remember the Clinton presidency remember how smarmy the whole thing was and how HIlary was basically 1/2 president.

    I think as a woman you can’t always play the abused woman card. Sorry but in politics you have to “man-up.” You can’t stumble around, nap and not show up for concession speeches.

    But more importantly you can’t pay operatives to create violence at Trump rallies, get rich on pay for play schemes as Sec of State or leave classified info lying around.

    BUt wait. There’s more: How about Libya? Laughing about killing a leader of a country is also sick . WIKILEAKS brings to light possible bizarre pedophile tendencies involving her campaign manager along with a complete disdain for “regular” Americans. The amount of info leaked out is almost too much to comprehend, but we go back to imagining we must vote for her because she’s a woman.

    Julian Assange I think said it all when he said he felt sorry for a woman so eaten up with ambition that she’d do just about anything to get power. She’s sad.

    Trump is only in office because Americans have been trying to get their leaders to listen to their concerns for years. He’s a symptom. We’ll see if he’s a cure.

      1. There was a lot of intellectual bullying even back then. Some people were charmed by Clinton and never really believed he was a sexual predator. The way the press and the Clintons handled Monica Lewinsky was definitely anti woman and anti victim.

        Clinton was popular among some for the economy, but he was a master of distraction. When the Lewinsky scandal broke I believe (if memory serves) that he bombed an aspirin factory in Africa. His destruction of the weird cult in WACO Texas always seemed a bit suspect as well.

        Oh, well. A Trump presidency should be VERY interesting (not sure what to expect), but I look forward to seeing Ivanka and Melania in nice clothes (of course the press keeps pointing out that Michelle O has multiple degrees and that Melania is just a washed up and foreign model — which I think says a lot about elitism right there!)

        You always ask the best questions!

      2. I’ve just said exactly that. It’s going to be interesting…

        The Clinton and Lewinsky thing, only a certain type (male – and usually, but not exclusively, white) could get away with something that like. Telling a full blown lie to the public and still being revered (at least, until now when it was all brought up again) with little tarnish to his reputation.
        And of course the number of unfounded things Trump said, one became tired of counting…but they didn’t make a jot of difference to his popularity.

        Imagine if that were a woman!

        Question: do you see ML as a victim?

      3. No sure if I agree that only men get away with bad behavior. Lena Dunham wrote about a rape that never happened and left enough hints as to who it was to make the guy’s life miserable. She bragged about sexually “exploring” her younger sister and she’s still seen as a fantastic example of feminist celebrity. The women who voted for Hillary had no problem voting for a woman who seems to have broken the law on many occasions.

        Working with abused children I’ve noted that women seem to get off the hook for their abuse of children “because they’re the mother” than the men who abuse. (this is just anecdotal).

        A media darling gets away with a lot more than someone who isn’t–male or female.

        Sadly what Trump said about rich men being allowed to touch women’s privates isn’t really about a man having to force himself on a woman, but about a lot of women willing to do anything to get with a rich and powerful man–sorry, but it’s true.

        Clinton is not a true charmer (in my view) but a sexual predator.

        ML wasn’t raped.She was the young girl attracted to power. She was victimized after when Clinton distanced himself from her and threw her to the wolves. I remember the smug female (and male) journalists who trashed her for her weight and looks (I thought she was cute–and Bill’s no prize). These are the same “journalists” who love the stories about young starlets who self-destruct after years of the media blood-sucking off of them.

      4. Oh stop! I can’t stand that shizz. A female presenter did that in the UK and killed at least 2 careers dead with insinuation. Speak or don’t speak. But it’s always easy to instruct others from the outside!

        I think though I was referring to a high position like the presidency. I think entertainers tend to be given more of a let.

        But I hear you. You’re not wrong.
        The abuse and women being let off the hook? Hell yeah! Yep I have seen that too.
        Actually you’ve just summed up what I wrote above (cos I write my answers as I’m reading downwards!)

        ‘ A media darling gets away with a lot more than someone who isn’t–male or female.’

        Re Trump and the groping. I completely agree with you. There is footage of Trump talking directly to and about a woman as if she were cattle for sale and the woman is beaming to be standing next to so much money! Her expression said ‘Pick me!…Wife or no wife!’
        To be fair it’s education. I saw a lot of this in the entertainment industry and I just accepted it because I was younger and didn’t know better. Possibly like ML there was no precedent for me to follow i.e no one I knew had been in the entertainment industry to guide me through it, so I had to make it up as I went when faced with almost rampant sexual impropriety.

        Now I think about it, I also wanted my job! I worked damn hard for it so I would try and navigate through the groping and similar crud without risking my job.

        In a way I was lucky in that I was a bible basher which gave me high moral standards, so I’d only put up with so much. What with that being slowly eradicated from our lives (at least on the Christian side!) and very poor role models available to watch 24/7, I don’t know who is telling girls now about what is acceptable and what isn’t these days. (Wait. Have I just become my own grandma?!)

        Have to agree with you on he ML view too. I’m not seeing victim. I’m seeing poor morals, poor choices, poor mindset and as you say attraction to power.
        But he was a scum bucket for abusing that entrusted power in that way and then lying like a rug.
        Ha! You always make me think! 🙂

Leave a Reply

