The Atheists & The Believers – Who Belongs Where?!

boffin momentWhich theist posse do some of these familiar faces belong to?

Answers at the click below!

2

Katy Perry.3

Jessica Simpson.1

Angelina Jolie.2

Brad Pitt.Daniel Radcliffe

Daniel Radcliffe.5

Kim Kardashian.???????????????????????????

Emma Thomson.5

Keira Knightley.6

Hugh Hefner.7

Javier Bardem.6

Madonna.7

Mario Lopez.Film Title: Contraband

Mark Wahlberg.9

Miley Cyrus.10

Nick Jonas.8

Jodie Foster.9

Julianne Moore.11

Tom Cruise.

11Morgan Freeman.

 

 Click here to find out! …How many did you get?

44 comments

  1. Man, I was just glad that I knew who most of them were. Anymore there are a lot of famous faces that I can’t identify. I guess that I’m a disbeliever in modern celebrity. Does that make me a cultural atheist?

  2. haha!! I got 90% right! ain’t I clever maam’….:) if you ask me, they’re all simply crazy. And that Miley Cyrus a ‘Believer’?? yeah right. In herself perhaps….oooops, did I say that? LOL…have a great day Miss E x x x

  3. I knew most of them as I have a weird fascination with finding out what people believe in. Personally, in my own personal opinion, myself and I (I’m going for maximum tautological reasoning), I think… I forgot what my point was. Oh well, fun post thanks!

  4. Amazingly, I got all of them right except for Emma Thompson and the Jonas dude. Couldn’t figure out what was going on with him. It was something in the eyes that gave it away. Hard to explain. Hmm

      1. Miley – she is a southern gal and I know this is profiling a bit, but the southerners do tend to be a bit bible beltish. And while her image these days is not all that bible beltish, I’m betting she sits down to have supper in her family home and joins hands before eating.
        Keira – she just has a kind of atheist look, and as us Poms are not all that sunday church’ish, I did a great assume.

    1. Theism is the belief in the existence of gods or a god. Therefore… we are discussing the belief in gods or a god or lack of belief in them.

      There are many topics that make little difference to how a person lives, nor do they change the world in any significant way, but that does not take away mine and others enjoyment in talking about them.
      And how about you? Do you only ever discuss things of earth shattering importance?

      1. Sorry, I didn’t mean to be bitchy, but it seems to me that this IS of “earth-shattering importance.” What someone believes – really believes, not just pops on their census form – informs how they see the world and how they live in it. It’s of greater significance than, say, what sports team they support.
        I get very frustrated by people who claim to follow a religion (Islam, Christianity…) but act in complete disregard of its teachings, thus giving genuine adherents a bad name.
        By the by, I had no idea Scientologists were theists. What god/s do they believe in?

      2. Okay you think it is of earth shattering importance, that’s perfectly fine. I hear you.
        Interesting point about ‘people who claim to follow a religion (Islam, Christianity…) but act in complete disregard of its teachings,’…doesn’t that include everybody at one point or another?
        Scientologists recognize God as part of their belief system although they have few strongly bound rules for Him as say in Christianity. Wish I had more time to investigate them as I find it interesting how ‘religions’ develop.

      3. Definitely, we all fall short of the ideal (even if we create our own, which is fascinating all by itself). But there is a difference.
        If I make marmalade and it doesn’t jell, I can still label it marmalade – it’s just not very good marmalade. That’s a different matter from deciding you like the idea of marmalade and just relabelling the apricot jam.

        I recognise that for some people, it’s just a loose nostalgic connection, but that isn’t the same thing as actual faith, and a distinction should be made.
        Why? Because people in more *cough* conservative parts of the world are seeing self-proclaimed ‘Christians’ filming themselves having sex, simulating masturbation onstage etc and naturally assume that Christianity leads to lewdness and so forth. Which could almost be funny if people weren’t getting killed because of it.

        I can see this is intended as a lighthearted piece, though – a simple division of ‘atheist’ and ‘other’ leaves Mother Teresa and Osama Bin Laden in the same group with Tom Cruise and Bob Marley.
        Speaking of people being lumped together, have you seen JK Rowling’s retort to Rupert Murdoch’s “muslims must take responsibility” tweet? Very pertinent.

        By “rules for Him” I assume you mean beliefs about what God is and isn’t? I couldn’t find any mention of God on their Wikipedia page, but a scientology site says they see God as the “Eighth Dynamic—the urge toward existence as infinity”. Does a ‘god’ have to be a person, or does an urge count? What do you think?

      4. “we all fall short of the ideal (even if we create our own, which is fascinating all by itself). But there is a difference.” – Don’t get me started, that would be indeed be a fascinating study!

        “…but that isn’t the same thing as actual faith, and a distinction should be made.” – Perhaps, but I certainly do not feel like I am in an exalted position to do this as that still labels what sins are better or more acceptable than others, or who has a right to call themselves Christian. As Jesus himself says, so who without sin at all should get this job? (I’m paraphrasing of course).
        End point, Christianity labels everyone as sinners who need to be saved, therefore who are we to judge or single out who God will accept more?

        “I can see this is intended as a lighthearted piece, though – a simple division of ‘atheist’ and ‘other’ leaves Mother Teresa and Osama Bin Laden in the same group with Tom Cruise and Bob Marley.” – But that would merely be fact. I wouldn’t have had a problem including them if the answer regarding them wasn’t so obvious. Remember, the simple premise of the piece is that they are believers in a Deity.

        “Speaking of people being lumped together, have you seen JK Rowling’s retort to Rupert Murdoch’s “muslims must take responsibility” tweet? Very pertinent.” – No, will take a look forthwith!

        “By “rules for Him” I assume you mean beliefs about what God is and isn’t?….Does a ‘god’ have to be a person, or does an urge count? What do you think?”
        I couldn’t explain The Scientologists standpoint any more than I have to be honest as a non scientologist. They recognise God, which was the prerequisite for being included in the list and as you say they have a specific name for Him. It would be interesting to find out more about them, I might end up signing up and jumping on Oprah’s sofa myself as a result, who knows?

        But as a general answer I thought God could take any shape He pleased as He is already recognized as the Holy Trinity – The Father, The Son and The Holy Ghost, for starters.
        And from the human standpoint you already touched upon the tendency of humans to be creative with religion and God, moulding them as people wish them to be. Therefore to believers He is their faith, their belief, their cornerstone, their ruler, their spirit, their father, their guide, their soul, their shepherd, why not an urge?

      1. Well I got every right, even the ones I didnt know off by only their “faces”. What they seemed like to me. Angelina Jolie for instance, she looks like she would be an atheist, as well as Brad Pitt. I can’t explain it. Its just a gut prediction.

  5. Most of those people I couldn’t pick, except for Tom Cruise who should be obvious to everyone. If you don’t know whether he’s a theist or an atheist, I tip my hat to your rock-hiding skills.

  6. Excited to click and see the ‘posse’ and only says ‘believer’ or ‘atheist’. Thought it might say which belief system. Just that ‘believer’ is such a broad term and doesn’t say a lot out of context.. Your thoughts?

    1. Hmmm… I didn’t want to belabour exactly what each person believed in, only that they believed in a Deity of some description. Plus I thought it would be common knowledge that most of them practice the Christian faith save for Tom Cruise and Madonna off the top of my head. I was thinking that for most people there would only be a few surprises. I might be wrong of course!

      1. Nah, not for me. No idea about any of them. And different deities represent different ideas as part of different religions/philosophies, which is where my interest comes from – human culture, world view, etc. Cheers for getting me thinking 🙂

      1. Okay, there are others, but Tom Cruise is the only one who’s part of a religion that was created by a science fiction author to make money.

Leave a Reply

