New Week, Bigger Cojones!

tshirt

“I no longer have patience for certain things, not because I’ve become arrogant, but simply because I reached a point in my life where I do not want to waste more time with what displeases me or hurts me. I have no patience for cynicism, excessive criticism and demands of any nature. I lost the will to please those who do not like me, to love those who do not love me and to smile at those who do not want to smile at me.

I no longer spend a single minute on those who lie or want to manipulate. I decided not to coexist anymore with pretense, hypocrisy, dishonesty and cheap praise. I do not tolerate selective erudition nor academic arrogance. I do not adjust either to popular gossiping. I hate conflict and comparisons. I believe in a world of opposites and that’s why I avoid people with rigid and inflexible personalities.

In friendship I dislike the lack of loyalty and betrayal. I do not get along with those who do not know how to give a compliment or a word of encouragement. Exaggerations bore me and I have difficulty accepting those who do not like animals. And on top of everything I have no patience for anyone who does not deserve my patience.”

– José Micard Teixeira

 

Question:

I identified possibly with every aspect of this great affirmation. It’s a new week. What are you no longer willing to put up with to take life to the next level? (You can borrow from above).

82 comments

  1. I have no patience for people who say all the right things but actions differ. It’s frustrating but I personally try to keep my word or at least let the other person know if changes occur. Some people don’t care.

  2. What a great title for a blog post love it.

    What I am not willing to put up with anymore is people who say “that’s not going to work!” without listening to what I’m saying.

    1. And these people are EVERYWHERE! Yup! Best avoided! I find that whilst they are talking away and trying to pour negativity over everything, it’s best to bow your head, keep quiet, get on with it and let the results do YOUR talking.
      Thanks Frank!

  3. I LOVE this. Thank you.

    I will not tolerate liars, weak personalities, or people who kiss ass to get promoted. I am a woman of strength and I’m proud of who I am, and if that intimidates you, find an ass kisser. 🙂

  4. Forty-two years into this life and I’m still trying come around to José’s thinking. My problem is that I want give my heart to everyone I meet. That is neither healthy or wise, and I feel like time is running out to learn this lesson. Oh well, perhaps I can just hide away from everyone and listen to Radiohead for a while… 😛

    1. That’s how it happens Sir Single and then one day …you snap. Your cup-peth hath not run-neth over yet! Just wait ’til they get that proverbial camel and attempt to put that last bit of straw on it’s back then come let me know it has happened and we shall share a Radiohead track together in muted celebration.

  5. I agree with everything in the article. I felt this way after a bad family experience and all my desire to care or feel bad about was just seared right out of me. I am a much happier person as a result.

      1. Yes! So much damage is done in this world by the erroneous belief that we are in some way responsible for sorting out other people’s problems. As the saying goes, “Lord, give me the serenity to accept the people I cannot change, courage to change the person I can change, and wisdom to know that that person is me!”

  6. Well, I think you are at peace now. You covered basically every human fault we have. About the animal thing, I have two annoying farting dogs but I don´t mind if a friend doesn´t like them, I do. But annoying as hell they are.

    What I´m not willing to put up with? Actually I might have some issues in that area since I´ve trained myself to just not give a shit about what people say about me. I have a pretty thick skin. As they say, what people think or say about me is none of my business.

    What I can´t put up with is if someone gets on my face or insults me or a person that is close to me, then is game on and if he wants a fight he better be good with his fists. That´s another issue that I have to work on now that I think about it.

    1. Thanks Charly! That turned into a bit of a confessional in the end!
      As for the farters, where ‘bad’ animal behaviour is concerned if you look behind it it is always the human at fault. It’s what you are feeding them that’s making them annoying farting dogs. But as long as you love and care for them well, who cares?

      And I so agree with you and live my life by this line, “what people think or say about me is none of my business.”

      1. They just eat the apples that fall from the tree, that´s the reason of the mean farts….bastards.

        It´s a good line to live by, certainly makes my life easier.

  7. Definitely that first paragraph.
    It is a perfect description of where I’m at in my life.
    I simply have no such time to waste on people who won’t give m their time

  8. I definitely identify with every single aspect of this great affirmation. If you don’t like what you see, feel free to look the other way.

  9. The moment she said “there’s no chance to be US but we have this bond called friendship”, I decided to give up on her. Even the friendship. I simply want to give up on something that hurts me most. I’m just so bitter right now…

  10. I agree with Teixeira, I don’t appreciate those who do not love animals. I believe you require a certain amount of innocence to love an animal. Because they are so natural and innocent themselves.
    It’s a horrible thing when I saw a CEO get fired from his position for kicking his dog on an elevator (it was great he got fired though). I have no sympathy for people like that CEO, it truly disgusts me.

    1. Have to say I identify a lot with what you say Lissy. We would have a calmer, cooler world if little ‘uns were taught to care for animals…properly and engage with their wonderful, laid back, natural, happy demeanour. It would translate to all living things.
      However when you are taught that all living things are yours to do with as you wish regardless…that arrogance translates too.

  11. I no longer tolerate pretence, hypocrisy, disloyalty, the pessimists and time wasters! I’m too old for such nonsense and refuse to apologize for who I am. (Yeah!! 🙂 )

    What an incredible post! Thanks for sharing!!:)

  12. I am thinking Jose must be a lonely person. Nearly everyone I know exhibits some of those qualities, including me at times. Finding peace is not about walking away from the unacceptable in others. Its about getting emotional needs met in my relationship with God, so I can love and accept others the ways He loves and accepts me, in spite of my faults. A great post. Thanks for making me think!

    1. Now this, this right here is a really interesting avenue to take this down. I’m going to think about this a little and see if I can’t offer more than this:
      I get the impression by the words ‘no longer’ that he has already tried to fix things and help people. Sometimes sticking with too many people like this can drain the life out of you, or the confidence or self esteem. When it starts damaging you there is a point at which we all may be driven to say ‘enough.’ And I expect that age is also a factor when life experience tells you that nothing will ever change using the same methods.

      Of course nobody is perfect, but there are degrees of imperfection that one can cope with and one cannot such as domestic abusers, emotional bullys, purposeful contrarians and drama queens, animal abusers etc. Plus we know that not everyone has a relationship with God or indeed one with Him that meets their needs. So I’m just exploring an answer to your interesting reply and that’s what came back.

      1. Myself, I think it is a terrible thing to look at a flawed and damaged fellow human being and just write them off. This is not to say that we are responsible for fixing them – not at all – but to fix on one aspect of a person and say that makes them unfit for our society? That’s a dangerous line to tread, because contrary to Teixeira’s belief, this is not a world of opposites. It isn’t us vs them, the good guys vs the bad guys. We are all screwed up to some extent, and who gives us the authority to draw a line and divide the world?

        That said, it is for each person to decide who they will associate with (character is contagious, I’ve heard) – but if he rules out anyone who has a trait he doesn’t like, he’d better be prepared to be on his own a lot. And he’d better hope he doesn’t find any of those traits in himself, because you can’t just refuse to associate with yourself!

        Boundaries, I think, are the answer: not cutting people out of our lives, but not letting them make their problems our problems. Accepting them the way they are and moving on with our own lives.

        Myself, I’d like to be finished with negativity – although that’s more something I need to cut out of myself than a trait in other people!

      2. Good point. As expressed by another commenter but nice that you suggested a solution also which was boundaries, although I suspect folk like Jose and Mery Streep (who famously used the quote) have probably gone through all that to get to where they are now.

    2. I agree with you Allison. A part of me wants to agree wholeheartedly with Jose, the part that wants to give up on humanity and hide. But everyone I have ever had a relationship with has displayed the characteristics listed depending on what phase of life they are in. We just can’t look to other people to make us happy. Everyone I know has been draining in some way. This post has certainly sparked some interesting response! (and no, I’m not related to Jose. Haha!)

  13. Ah yes, I have seen this around a couple of times (although I am sure it was attributed to Meryl Streep! Never mind 🙂 ) I also agree with just about everything it says 🙂 For me – I in longer want to waste any time with people and things that don’t fit my core values and who offend my integrity.

    1. *Dramatic snap of the fingers in agreement!* 🙂

      I put the authors name big and bold because (as with the internet! 🙂 ) it had indeed done the rounds erroneously attributed to Meryl Streep who had merely quoted it because it spoke volumes to her.

  14. We’ve arrived here together. 🙂 I’m intolerant of intolerance but I won’t argue my contention, I know my truth and have no need to sway the masses. I’m compelled to take what I need and no longer apologize (though I am not needy, nor do I have big requirements) I am, however done rolling over and playing nice so that thankless, thoughtless, dramatics may have the road…I won’t fall prey to dramatics though and I won’t apologize. Thank you for understanding, I’ll be on my way.

      1. ….And how much do I love that word ‘wordsmithing’ or indeed ‘wordsmithery’ – sounds like a terribly important job!
        ‘I have a degree in wordsmithery from Cambridge sir!’

        `…sorry, I’ve gone off at a tangent! But thank you. 🙂

  15. Thank you for this important realization. Why the heck does it take us so long to get here? I apologize for this long comment, but I want to share this poem by Rumi that echoes your post:

    My heart, sit only with those
    who know and understand you.

    Sit only under a tree
    that is full of blossoms.

    In the bazaar of herbs and potions
    don’t wander aimlessly
    find the shop with a potion that is sweet
    If you don’t have a measure
    people will rob you in no time.

    You will take counterfeit coins
    thinking they are real.

    Don’t fill your bowl with food from
    every boiling pot you see.

    Not every joke is humorous, so don’t search
    for meaning where there isn’t one.

    Not every eye can see,
    not every sea is full of pearls.

    My heart, sing the song of longing
    like the nightingale.

    The sound of your voice casts a spell
    on every stone, on every thorn.
    First, lay down your head
    then one by one
    let go of all distractions.

    Embrace the light and let it guide you
    beyond the winds of desire.

    There you will find a spring and nourished by its clear waters
    like a tree you will bear fruit forever.

Leave a Reply

