State Murder – Is It Wrong To Laugh?

cwt edt

Joseph WoodOn Wednesday 23rd July Joseph Woods, pictured, took hours to die a slow, choking, extended death for the murder of 2 innocent people in 1989. It took approximately 2 hours to kill him. This is the third time recently that this has happened, (that we know of!)

The killing by lethal injection of an inmate in Ohio went similarly embarrassingly wrong in January. In Oklahoma in April an execution was halted when the inmate appeared to regain consciousness midway through! It seems the IV tube had not been inserted correctly.

 

Question:

Does it make me the devil’s spawn that I laughed when I heard this news?

How do you feel about these ‘mistakes’ and the death penalty in general?

 

Are you in the ‘2 wrongs don’t make a right’ camp or the ‘Fry the sucker!’ posse?

I’m just an idiot Editor. School me.

110 comments

  1. There is a lot of really good opinions on here. Mine is brief and direct. I do believe they deserved to die. I do believe our justice system prolongs it way too long. It should be done within days. But I also believe sometimes it is not our business. News and media tell us too much. He was executed. End of story. Do we need the details? I don’t think we do. I think it only causes more trouble than it is worth sometimes. Give me the bottom line any day.

    1. Yeeeeees and no. When the state holds back this kind of information it is open to doing all sorts of naughty things unchecked and unmonitored. And you might say ‘Pah! Who cares? It’s only prisoners,’ but that stuff starts to bleed into the average person’s life really quickly.
      There is already tons of stuff you are not told already to do with what’s in your food, the truth behind the medicines you are buying etc do you really just want the bottom line on those things?

  2. I didn’t laugh…but I also, to be honest, was not bothered by “the mishaps”. I am sorry, but the poor girl buried alive didn’t “suffer” for 2 minutes, or even an hour. And I don’t see my response as barbaric. As a society, we seem to have no problem locking someone away for 20 yrs for smoking a cigarette made out of something other than tobacco, but if someone rapes a 4 yr old, they get a smack on the hand and might get 4-5 yrs if they get caught more than once. Our whole “justice” system is not really based on justice, all too often.

    I also believe we need to re-instate other options for execution. A firing squad is quick, cheap, and effective. So is hanging. If someone prefers those options for their own death, or the electric chair, then let them have that choice. I also agree with the statements above: we can euthanize animals all the time, whether it be for meat or in mercy in a vet’s office, and 99.5% of the time get it right. I did have one friend who had a Beagle ‘put down’ due to cancer, took her home to bury her, and she woke up when he started tossing the dirt back in. He had to shoot her. So things can go wrong, even with animals. That said, I’ve worked with horses for 25 yrs, and have had to see more than one put down for various health issues over the years. If we can euthanize a 1200# animal right the first time, we should be able to do the same for a human. If it’s the “no pain” drugs portion of the cocktail that are causing the issue, get rid of them. A large dose of morphine will do the job, and is inexpensive.

    It also seems to me that people confuse forgiveness and justice. Someone can be forgiven-that does not clear them of the responsibility of their actions, or the consequences. If you step in front of a moving train, your family can forgive you for doing that. You will still be dead. They are two different things.

    That said, I do have an issue with the innocent-who-have-been-convicted issue. I live in the county where Michael Morton was convicted and spent 25 yrs behind bars for a crime he did not commit. ALL evidence should be re-examined ANYTIME we have breakthroughs in science, such as DNA testing, that can either clear or condemn a person without a doubt. That should not even have to be appealed, it should be standard practice. There should certainly not be any way for a prosecutor to block that testing! And I do not agree with the death penalty for cases where it is not just flat out plain obvious that the charged IS guilty–either by eye-witnesses, or by scientific means, preferably by a combination of both, but leaning more heavily towards the latter. Humans make mistakes. And some humans know how to play the system. I personally know two men that were charged with crimes and convicted of them, that they absolutely did not commit-they could not have, they were not even in the vicinity. That said, both times a female relative of someone in the judicial system, in one of them a niece of the judge, got him convicted, DESPITE evidence to the contrary. That judge should not have even presided over the case. But it’s a good ol boys system here…and the one other judge that dared to point out glaring inconsistencies, well, niece wrote her state legislature and got him reprimanded by the state, because of who she is. There are way too many people in our jails that do not even belong in them, and that is a serious issue.

    My perspective comes as an abuse survivor. I grew up with childhood sexual abuse, physical, and emotional abuse, and with a sadist in my life. I was married off to an abuser, and spent nearly 2 decades in that. None of them have, or will, face consequences for their actions in this world. Some have already gone on to the next. I am not bitter, but I am ruthlessly practical in these matters. I don’t want anyone else to have to go through what I did, though I know they are, every day.

    1. “one friend who had a Beagle ‘put down’ due to cancer, took her home to bury her, and she woke up when he started tossing the dirt back in.” 😯

      Great piece I was going to say especially the end bit, but all the way through, just plain common sense.

  3. Laughing doesn’t make you the devil’s spawn, it simply shows that you had no connection to the case. As it was out of your reality it was unreal to you and you were able to find the humor in it. There is nothing wrong with that.

    Mistakes happen, we’re human. Think about back when people were hanged or sent through the electric chair, mistakes happened then too. I think the reason people get so upset when mistakes happen with lethal injection is because it’s supposed to be a more humane way to kill a person.

    Personally, I don’t believe in the death penalty. I also don’t believe in murder. So really I’m just a hopeless optimist who has decided to accept the things that cannot be changed.

    1. Oooogh! I like that summation of why I laughed because as I said to some other folk, I don’t consider this a laughing matter and you are spot on, I don’t have a connection to the case and it is not my reality. I would add that I also don’t give two hoots for the men concerned, so all of that probably did it.

      Thanks purplerachacha. 🙂

  4. I’m completely against capital punishment for many reasons:
    1) It not only doesn’t deter crime but states with capital punishment have a higher crime rate
    http://www.nytimes.com/2000/09/22/us/absence-executions-special-report-states-with-no-death-penalty-share-lower.html
    2) It’s state sanctioned murder (killing of a human being with malice aforethought. Malice can be expressed (intent to kill) or implied.) and makes individuals in society complicit in the crime
    3) At the end of the day, someone has to bush the button to inject or electrically shock the prisoner. That is an unfair burden to place on anyone
    4) The penal system was never meant to be about revenge but it seems this is what most people experience it as.
    5)Economically it’s unviable as capital cases put more financial burden on a state than life imprisonment.
    http://www.deathpenaltyinfo.org/costs-death-penalty
    6) The majority of the developed western world has abolished capital punishment, the states that are holding on to this barbaric practice align themselves with governments such as Afghanastan, Democratic Republic of Congo, Iran, North Korea, Saudia Arabia, Sudan, Somalia etc…not the best of bedfellows
    7) There will always be cases where corruption, poor advocacy or even luck will mean innocents are killed. When that happens, we are all guilty of murder and by the logic of capital punishment, should be put to death too.
    In other words, there is simply no defence for it other than it being for revenge which is not what Justice is about. It’s irrational, inhumane, economically unjustifiabe and uncivilised.

    1. Great terrifically informative answer peggah. I knew I had read somewhere that it was not necessarily a cheaper solution to life imprisonment.
      Justice seems such a hollow word when talking about most countries penal systems.

  5. A lot of people laughed along with you. They didn’t suffer nearly as much as the people they murdered or the family that had to face it.. I’ve had personal friends that were murdered. The death penalty won’t bring them back, but I believe in “an eye for an eye” and a reenactment of the crime ought to take place. You die the same way you causes death… Just my two pennies..

    1. I have always been interested in that concept or reenacting back what has been done Jennie. Some countries practice it. I’d love to hear what the pitfalls are as it sounds like a solution to some cases.

      1. I think that the problem with the death penalty in the United States is that we barely use it. People on death row are more likely to die from old age than by capital punishment. Years and years of appeals or waiting for your number to be called.

      1. Have to say that oft repeated saying does my head in. As all the world would not be partaking in an eye for an eye how can it leave the whole world blind. (Taken literally of course).

        I would also add that a family whose child was brutally raped and murdered are often seeking revenge and could care less about justice. Might not be all spiritual and pc on paper but it’s an honest human feeling in the real world.

  6. I agree with you, I actually can’t stop laughing at his push broom mustache, I mean look at it, that is some serious push broom action going. Glad it took a long time to kill him, I bet they laughed so hard that that was the reason it took so long to kill him, the mustache!

  7. Our species has been hard at work trying to find a way to reconcile our need to live in close proximity with our basic, simian nature – one that includes group violence (war), infanticide and cannibalism (as Jane Goodall found in her study of chimpanzees).

    Violence is in our nature – and there is always the threat that, left to our nature, violence will break out like a wildfire and consume us as a group. So, we have constructed all these formal rituals to isolate violence and sanitize it in a sense. We can’t allow vengeance killing – too much passion, too much emotion, too hard to control; instead, the State takes over vengeance; does the dirty work for us.

    In that way all parties are satisfied and “regular” folks can go about their business undisturbed by it all.

    In orderly societies we have always killed those who kill others outside the socially sanctioned mechanisms. There is no “good” (i.e., foolproof) way to do this, though significant effort has been devoted to finding one. The problem is – humans, like most animals are maddeningly hard to kill. Quick, sanitary deaths can not be ensured – though they can most of the time.

    I could go on even more than I already have :^) about the way in which we have removed death from everyday experience and made it seem alien and something to be overcome. It is this trend that makes some folks so squeamish about capitol punishment.

      1. There are bad things and good things about every country. It is not just mainly the white west that have all the lovely people and correct laws. A lot of them I have visited and I was not randomly put to death at any point.
        Let’s not even go into which countries really have the most war hungry, violent, land and people grabbing pasts historically.

        For this subject I don’t see a club of inferior and superior cultures. I see humans getting some things wrong and some things right in different aspects of their lives and across all countries.

        Hard though it is we must try not to judge every person in a country by the actions of a relative few.

  8. First all of all the states that have the fealty penalty should get their methods straight! Second, I don’t feel bad for murderers who take forever to die, they deserved the exact same of what they did to their victims. Hope this doesn’t sound mean, I’m a really nice person 🙂

  9. The death penalty is a real conundrum for me. I’m a very peaceful, loving person who hates suffering, but I also fear criminals who are a danger to society and cause even more suffering. Perhaps these lethal injection mishaps are the Universe’s way of dispensing some karma? I’m usually not one to yell, “Kill the Beast!,” but I do think sex offenders should be given a death sentence. Studies have shown that most can’t be rehabilitated and they’re a great danger to the innocent. Just my not so peaceful opinion this morning! 🙂 How’ve you been? 🙂

    1. Damn Dee Dubya! I have not caught up for ages! Coming over with some cookies later! I’ve been good thanks but maaaan…got to find out if you’ve completely disappeared and how that’s all going! 🙂

  10. oooh, you little meanie you! You pose one of my all time favourite topics that have me chewing my nails, turn me into an instant detective, judge, jury and God all at once! hmmm, let me see. I personally don’t see the point of gleefully rubbing our hands together watching a murderer suffer an agonising death, BUT….in saying that, should the victim be my loved one, who suffered an agonising death at the hands of such murderer, revenge and glee at watching him or her suffer horribly as they die would probably have me salivating. (I’m awful, devilish), but I believe this is true for most if they are honest, because it’s like ‘YEAH you bastard, SUFFER!’ but…………did YOU take revenge for the violent murder of your loved one?

    On the other end of the scale. Forgiveness sets you free, but honestly? for me? if someone had to murder one of my children in a cruel and torturous way, making them suffer for hours, I don’t think I’d even let it get to the state. If you know what I mean. I believe that there can only be peace and solitude and a sense of ‘doing right by your loved one’ when YOU ‘take an eye for an eye’…..depends on your psyche really…

    1. I am a meanie! I am a meanie! This is how I feel about it too. It’s all very good to be liberal and kind when that isn’t your 2 month old baby he has just raped and killed. I think the group of people in the ‘2 wrongs’ camp would diminish somewhat if they were truly tested in this way, although I know there would always be some who would still remain on the side of forgiveness.

  11. Oh gosh, that’s quite a mistake to make! Think about waking up midway though your execution and then suffering for 2 hours…
    I don’t really agree with capitol punishment, but at the same time, I would rather them be executed than serve time till they’re old and be free, or something. I think that to things like this, it’s like a double ended sword, there’s risks, and chances things go absolutely wrong. Sure he killed people, but does letting him slowly suffocate for two hours justify his wrongs? I actually feel a little bad and sorry he slowly died like that.

    1. Let me push you a little Krystie, just out of interest. If he had tortured, raped and murdered your sister or someone you deeply care about would you still feel a little bad about the way he died?

      1. I would feel he had it coming, karma can be a bitch. I would slightly feel bad about how he died, but if he did all those horrible things, I think I would try to justify it as he had it coming. Weird how our brains all think, huh? I’d like to say I would still feel really bad about it, but I don’t think I would feel as bad.

  12. About this, i don’t really know what to think. I have no mercy when the person doesn’t feel sorry. I don’t like the feeling I have to pay for their food & sleep from my my own pocket. So for the people who murder without bit of regret I say ‘An eye for an eye..’ Why to either keep that person alive? That’s insane. Then there are the judical mistakes. Few months ago i had read something like for ages the ballistic expertise has been done wrong, so there are maybe hundreds of innocent people in prison. And then. I can tolerate a murder in affect. It can happen and that murder has a mental punishment to the end of his life. That’s why most of these people do a suicide.. Anyway the feeling there are millions people in prison doesn’t make me feel better or more safe on this planet.

  13. I am sure my Texas “roots” will be showing here, but I am in the camp that says once convicted of the brutal murder of a pregnant 22 y.o as McGuire was, or kidnapping, beating shooting and burying a 19 y.o while she was still alive as Lockett did, or killing an ex-girlfriend and her father and then assaulting officers as Woods did, the criminals responsible deserve whatever they get in prison and on death row. I just wish they woud not keep the monsters alive for so long after the convictions or the crimes.

    Domestic abuse and deaths due to domestic abuse, kidnapping-rape-murders, and rapes in general are all too prevalent in the USA and around the world. It is time that we return to harsh punishments, hard labor and swift executions to stop the travesties committed against women and children the world over. If we start in the USA, perhaps we can turn the tide of the violence, by example. If not the world, then we can at least let the violent sadists in this country know that their days of preying on helpless women and children is over. JMO

    1. It’s not that I don’t agree with you, but I’m not sure that killing folk has ever been a deterrent or some of your states would not have murders. And there’d be no crime in Arab states and African countries.

      1. I think the problem in the USA is that “death row” is considered a luxury to many placed there. They have years of appeals ahead of them. They have a roof over their heads, three meals a day, free dental and medical care, free library privileges and cable TV. They sit on death row for years and sometimes decades without ever having to worry about where their next meal is coming from and if they will have a bed to lie in the next night.

        Many of our law-abiding citizens, do not have it so well and we law abiding ones are the ones paying for the years and decades of ease that these prisoners enjoy. I cannot afford dental and medical for both myself and my sons, yet I pay to give it to murderers and rapists? Me thinks something is rotten in the USA…

    2. I’m sorry, but the USA is very far from leading the world away from homicide in particular. It has, for whatever reason i don’t know, some of the highest homicide rates in the world. It’s other countries that are paving the way while the USA is trailing behind

      1. I could list dozens of reasons as to why we are failing so miserably in controlling homicides in the USA, much of it to do with the popularity of “news as entertainment”. When people here watch what passes for news in this country, it is all about death, hate, fear, sex, mass murder, etc. it is causing an atmosphere of hysteria that is not as common in other countries. We are encouraged to think in terms of us and them. Republicans vs Democrats, African American vs Latino vs Asian vs European Caucasian, Pro-life Vs Pro-choice, Armed vs Unarmed, Non-religious vs religious vs extremist vs anti-religious, even males vs females.

        I believe it has become an intentional effort to keep people distrusting, fearing and hating their neighbors as a way of controlling and herding us where they want us to go. Much of the focus is to get as many people as they can into privately owned prisons for profit, they especially like the ones who are not violent going in because they are easier to control once inside, however they often do not remain non violent once they are inside.

        The USA is being brought down from the inside and though many of us want to fight it, there is so much disorganization currently, that I do not see a way out. I guess the ones who complain about illegal immigrants will finally be happy. Soon we will be one of those countries where people have flee in order to be able to support their families, leave a tyrannical government and live in peace.

  14. One death does not make up for the death of another. Killing has never made a gnat’s difference in any situation. The human race cannot be said to have matured in any way until killing is no longer the norm.

  15. Not wrong to laugh certainly. I was used to say ‘if I didn’t laugh, I’d die.’ There is too much that is backwards, messed up, and horrible in life not to laugh at some of the ironies.

    I’m mixed up about it all which is to say I know how I feel and how I feel is mixed up. I am generally against the death penalty if there is any reasonable alternative. Question is, what is a reasonable alternative? The amount of money we spend warehousing people in prisons is fairly obscene, and I am totally against the execution of innocent persons. Sometimes people are proved to be innocent a decade or decades after they were convicted. What does that say? That we (society) haven’t got a clue, sadly. So don’t kill them if you are not sure, but even if you are sure… do WE (society again) want to be the kind of people who kill people, when we can warehouse them at whatever expense? Do we want to be the kind of people that people turn into who are forced to keep a hostile population under control? It doesn’t look good from that angle, either.

    And yet – if someone hurt one of my kids, I wouldn’t just want them killed, I’d want it to hurt. I’d want it to take a long, long time. And, by the way, can I be the executioner? What if someone kidnapped one of my kids and tortured her or him before the killing? I think I ought to have the right to inflict appropriate punishment myself. And, oh, can I kneecap the perp first? I’m not even sure I’d hate myself afterwards.

    So, I don’t know. I think whatever we do will be an imperfect solution – there is no good solution. As long as people commit horrible crimes, this question will persist, and whether we kill them, or warehouse them, or lock them up in mental hospitals, or (heaven forbid, but it happens) let them go free, somebody is going to be hurt, somebody will suffer, somebody will pay a price. I don’t pretend to have any answers, but I do know enough to accept whatever compromise solution we (society) come up with with as good a grace as possible.

    1. This was great melisdvash. Full of the doubt and complex argument I would expect from a subject as complicated as this. And thank you for your honesty about how you would react if God forbid it were your child. Enough of this PC shite! Most of us if we are truthful would want to kill the bastard, nurse him lovingly back to life just so we can kill him again. It might help to know that the victim’s family of one these murderers were delighted with the tortuous outcome. It doesn’t bring back their loved one but it closes the door for them. I think there is also a sense of sticking up for the one who is no longer here to fight for themselves. It IS an imperfect solution for sure but I’m for anything that puts the victim (or their family) first for once.

  16. Well, for what it’s worth my two penny with is to point out that the vast majority of murderers are sick in one way or another. And one test of the level of a society’s civilisation would be to look at how it treats it’s sick.

  17. I am the opposite. I am in the two wrongs don’t make a right camp. My conscience is a heavy thing to carry around. Nothing makes a person grow wiser and stronger than forgiveness. It has to be experienced to be believed. Even if the alternative is keeping him locked up until he, or if, he changes his ways. I know some people are different for various reasons. But yes, I am the opposite.

  18. I don’t know what to make of this. These botched state murders are like scenes from the blackest of black comedies, don’t you find? I’m half expecting somebody to come into the room and slap them with a fish just to make sure they’re dead. Truth truly is stranger (and more disturbing) than fiction.

    I think these killers diminish themselves when they kill another human being, and then agents of the state diminish themselves and the family of the poor victim when they kill the killer. Thusly are we all diminished. And really, who wins? Is there something other than justice to be served here? Maybe there should be because our thirst for retribution seems to reduce us to being something less than human.

    Having said all that, I really don’t know what I’m talking about. I’ve never had someone I love be murdered. Perhaps I’d feel differently if I did.

  19. I have to say I’m with you on this one. I don’t actually laugh, but I find it hard to find an ounce of compassion. The executed are given the chance to die in a peaceful way, unlike the methods they inflict on their victims. If one or two go astray, it still doesn’t compare to what they dished out.

  20. Well it’s no divine comedy, although it might seem incredibly funny at just the wrong times. But hey, I’m part of the camp not the posse/herd.

    To me, it feels like a tragedy that we can’t rehabilitate everyone. It makes me sick that we don’t know how to humanely kill our own kind if we choose to go that route. But how we can conclude that anyone or group has the right to kill any other person, this is beyond me. We’ve all seen good turn bad and bad turn good.

    I’ve been told “you can’t fix a hard-case”, “you can’t make it drink”, and “you can’t pick up everyone else’s garbage”; I just don’t necessarily believe those idioms with regard to this case. I believe in redemption and grace to the grave.

    I don’t believe we create an environment to rehabilitate people in our system. Do we or our institutions give much credence to what makes people act against their and society’s best interests. But the question belies the answer, “Why can’t we all just get along?”

    I do know we all have at times a fine self-destructive streak, and sometimes it’s no laughing matter. But even if you told me I wouldn’t get in trouble, I don’t believe I would kill a killer who was already captured. Is death a greater punishment.

    Maybe someone who knows more about the experience of a killer getting caught and killed being a good thing should respond… I’ve never had the experience.

    Enjoy life!

    1. Thanks Ian for your input, valid points here. To me it’s also a tragedy – although one at the bottom of a very long list of innocent non murderers who also have problems that I would prefer my tax money to go to.

  21. How can murder have rules? The murderer is a messed up cruel being so then the person who murders him is the same no? Just because a government have said it’s ok that still makes it so? Murder is wrong full stop, it causes pain and heartbreak. No one has the right to take someone’s life and noone who takes a life is truly happy, they should be locked up away from people but not murdered too, it will never end.

      1. I just can’t believe that someone able to take a life is genuinely happy, insane possibly and under a false pretence of happiness, but never the less, when they close their eyes at night they have to be haunted. No excuse for murder but killing them isn’t punishing them.

  22. I mostly disapprove of capital punishment. It is irreversible and it’s likely that innocent people have been put to death. For example, this guy: http://www.innocenceproject.org/Content/Cameron_Todd_Willingham_Wrongfully_Convicted_and_Executed_in_Texas.php

    Having said that, I find it hilarious that inane government bureaucracy can make screw up something so simple. What can possibly be hard about killing someone? Nobody ever botches putting down dogs and cats. You give them a drug, they go to “sleep” and they don’t wake up. Simple, right? Why the Hell is lethal injection done in such a complicated manner that it can actually be screwed up?

    The first guy to be put to death in the US after capital punishment was brought back in the 1970’s was a guy named Gary Gilmore. He was allowed to choose the method (from I imagine only a few choices … not like he had a big menu to browse), and he opted for a firing squad. I’m pretty sure I would go with that as well, if given a choice. Several bullets in the heart has got to be about as quick and easy as it can get.

    1. I agree ZS. There is no excuse for putting down someone for whom there is even the slightest doubt of innocence.
      But we don’t know that they don’t botch animal put downs. They do everything else inhumane to them, I shouldn’t think it a stretch that there are careless people who work in vet surgeries. Having said that I get what you are saying and thank you for it!

  23. Don’t even bring up a pig like Manson. That group should have all fried right after they were tried. That little bastard is still living it up on 3 squares a day, internet, cable, free medical … on government money … OUR money. SERIOUSLY?! How many vet’s families could have been helped with all that dough. Or senior citizens? Hey I’m almost there … do I have to commit a terrible crime to get assistance?

  24. The only reason I’m sort of for the death penalty is for economic reasons. It’s cheaper to carry out the death penalty than to keep someone in jail for life. Also, it kind of makes me feel a little safer not having quite so many criminals in prison. (I’ve probably watched Batman too many times.) But it’s a two way street- you want to keep people safe, but you don’t want to punish the wrong person.
    As far as the mistakes go, people make mistakes all the time. They call it medical malpractice when doctors do it so I guess this could go in the penitentiary malpractice category. I think if we’re going to advertise people’s mistakes we might as well advertise all the operations/ surgeries that go wrong too.

    1. Very interesting comparison! As for the cost I read something about that not being the case as state murder is very expensive – although I can’t imagine how that is possible. Have to find the piece and re-read again.

      1. Unfortunately money makes the world go around. But in this case economic reasons are factors to consider for me because by using emotional reasoning, I think that living in a jail for your whole life is worse than dying. So in my opinion the death sentence really isn’t all that bad.
        Also, I don’t think that making a decision based on economical reasons is why so much is wrong with the world, but rather making the wrong decision based on economical considerations. You can decide what’s right and wrong in this case.

  25. I just made a post about this myself. What’s really funny is that what was intended to be a more humane way of killing people has proven time and time again to not be so smooth after all. I’m in the “quick and painless” camp.

  26. I believe in capitol punishment but i’m not so sure how I feel about these story’s. Humans take fate into their own hands and it goes awry. Reminds me a little of the burning body chapter from Stephen King’s The Green Mile.

  27. I’m originally from Illinois, a state that got it wrong enough times that they had to stop “frying suckers”. I have nothing against the death penalty, I certainly don’t want to support someone who will never be fit for society ever again for the rest of his life. Unfortunately, our legal system is a little “off” at times, and I’d like to know that we are frying the right suckers. But I like Texas’ example on this topic, in general.
    Perhaps they need a new and creative way to put them down, how about some ideas from our food industry? We kill millions of animals successfully and quickly every year. Just a thought.

  28. There is just no right answer. I would guess that, in nearly every case, the convict has family and friends who love him/her in spite of what they have done. Can you imagine the heartbreak of a mother when her son is executed? A lifetime in prison costs the taxpayers an awful lot of money but so does any other type of welfare. There is just no right answer.

  29. How about we stop with the death penalty and simply sell them to China as slave labor?
    If they’re gonna get killed there is ZERO chance of them getting out of jail.
    Just terminate their CITIZENSHIP instead and make a buck on them.

    Or failing that, why don’t we just outsource or prisons? I’m sure the Chinese or Hondurans can run a prison for a lot less than we do.

      1. Haha.
        Not gonna happen.
        I would be vice president though.
        All the cool toys, pay and vacations without the hassle of having to do much work 😉
        Unless something happened to the President….
        Of course I guess I could call in sick and make the Speaker of the House do it….
        Oh Lord… that’d be scary. John Boehner? *shudders*

  30. I liked what Martha said.

    As for choosing what method to kill…. does it matter as much as deciding whether death penalty is right or wrong. I often wonder how it ,makes the taking a life any different whether state approved or otherwise.

    I could not see the point of a laugh though – in answer to your question, but to each his /her own.

    Looking forward to debate on abortion as I am an Obs Gyn Specialist myself,

    1. Nope there was no point to the laugh. It just happened. I don’t think it is a particularly funny subject and weighted against the victims I also don’t care that these men suffered, but I laughed, so there you go.
      Now, ripples…the abortion question is on the tip of my tongue, but I have heard many of the same arguments: the right to life and is the foetus (fetus) human or not and the woman’s right to decide etc
      I need to know something different about it, but not sure what. In your position do you have a different standpoint you can expose us to?

  31. A very interesting question. It’s hard for me to pick a side, as I don’t believe in capitol punishment. With the talk of the expanses in execution, as well as the number of innocent being caught and executed, I don’t believe this is a humour situation. It is traumatic I’m sure to watch and experience. I understand justice needs to happen, and the guilty party should pay for what they did, but I believe it should be done in a respectable and humane way. Hearing these stories actually sickens me.

    That being said, I can understand those with a dark sense of humour. I could be mistaken, but wasn’t there some rule in the wild west about if a man survived the hanging he was allowed to go free?

    1. Ah, dear njmckay , this bit :
      “as well as the number of innocent being caught and executed” is a whole topic itself and real bugbear of mine. I believe if you are not 100% sure state murder should not even be on the table.

      There are enough cases where they are 100% sure and because of a state lottery system where some states kill and some don’t people like Charles Manson are having a whale of a time.

    2. I agree with you. I wouldn’t speak passionately about this, there are already too many causes nowadays and I’ve really just exhausted my activism but I don’t think that torturing someone like this is in any way humane. I can understand that the perp should be punished but to take that to the next level is just a reflection of the individuals carrying out or deciding this punishment and their abuse of the power that was given to them. I suppose it goes back to the age-old argument of whether that makes them any different from the criminals. Punishment is understandable but torture? This is definitely not an amusing issue. But it’s also definitely nowhere near my top 5 list-of-things-to-protest-against, not today anyways.

  32. this doesn’t quite make me laugh, but I think its a normal nervous reaction to laugh at things that seem too macabre to be real life. like that time a couple in Brazil was murdering women and baking them into empanadas…

  33. P.S. I don’t think it’s wrong to laugh. I think a healthy dark sense of humor is a sign of sanity in a world that makes no sense.

      1. Ahhh, the search for the painless spank… It has baffled scientists and alchemists for centuries, like the quest for perpetual motion, the elixir of life or the intelligent spanker.

  34. No idea. I guess what theory is that the death penalty helps deter people from committing murder. I don’t think anyone can prove that or disprove it, so it’s kind of like the existence of God, in whom many people believe not out of faith but as a way to hedge their bets, just in case there is a hell. (I’ll keep my own beliefs out of this… 😉 )

    Others seem to think it gives the loved ones of the victims satisfaction knowing the deaths of their family and friends have been “avenged” and knowing the state is standing up for “good.”

    All the people with all the opinions on this can argue passionately and persuasively and bring evidence to the table. The idea of a merciful death to a person who’s committed a violent, murderous crime is just a way to salve the guilt of those who believe the death penalty is wrong but not so bad if it doesn’t hurt any. Such people consider nooses and shot guns “barbaric.”

    Good luck getting a clear answer! Next week, maybe you can bring up abortion! 😉

    1. Oh now there’s a topic indeed! – And one I have considered. I was not quite sure what I wanted to ask about it however, I’m still playing with the structure of a potential question somewhat. Yeah, that’s a deep one…

Leave a Reply

