Did You Know This Fact About Torch Singer Dusty Springfield?

dusty 5

 

At The Home Style Directory we relax and happily succumb to the gravitational pull of great talent. We love people with striking personalities and people who own the courage of their convictions. Ms Mary O’Brien otherwise know as singer Dusty Springfield was one of those people. She had a voice which could never really be lauded enough for it’s exceptional tone and control or the refined intelligent usage from it’s owner…

But the reason we chose to profile her is an inspiring and courageous standpoint the lady took in back in 1964.

 

Click to our cover and see what that was.

16 thoughts on “Did You Know This Fact About Torch Singer Dusty Springfield?

  1. Your blog has everything I love – lifestyle, art, culture & interior design (I could browse for hours). Thank you for following my blog. Count me as one of your’s!

  2. Wow! That is so fascinating! I never knew that Dusty produced her own music or anything about her anti-apartheid clause! What a brave and wonderful woman. It always makes me so happy to see when celebrities would stand up against social injustices. I read that Frank Sinatra would refuse concerts to places where black performers weren’t allowed. Although he was flawed in many other ways, it made me like him more.

  3. Very interesting…I remember reading something similar about the lead actress of “The gods must be crazy”( forget her name)…she had acted in a play in which her character kisses a black actor…it caused a lot of trouble…but she stood her ground( I hope my memory serves me right)…I always find such small but resolute actions so inspiring…

      1. Hehehe…Mum’s good, a little cranky because of the extremely hot weather here …but nothing that I can’t manage! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜› Thank you for inquiring!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  4. It is so refreshing to read about a ‘celebrity’ who stands by her convictions. She must have wondered on some level if her actions would impact on her career and yet she did the right thing. When the stories surrounding so many artists today (even if you take the stand that only 10% of those stories are true) make me cringe, this one has put a smile on my face.

Leave a Reply

