Female Artists That Keep Their Clothes On!

So, we started having a conversation (a few posts back) about the Christian artist who walked out of the Grammys and I was asked by my newest Christian bestie Ellie of New Creation Ministries about how long a list of young contemporary artists might be if it featured only female artists that keep their clothes on.

I decided to find out.

Now this has to be a fairly general list. Some artists may have one or two pics in their past with less clothing than we are used to them wearing – that’s okay – what this is, is a list of female artists for whom sticking their tuchus in your face and wiggling their breasticles in a flimsy wisp of material would be considered an aberration from the norm for them.

Another containment is age. If we were to go back in the decades this would be a long handsome list. Your Blondies to your Kate Bush’s, Aretha Franklin’s to your Stevie Nicks, Patti Smiths, Sade’s et al. That was a time when lovers of music and not marketers and accountants ran the music industry. So we’ll keep the artists fairly contemporary, fairly well known and we’ll keep them alive too for this list.

Another thing is I am not judging my near naked sisters…at least not in this post(!) because

1. I like (genuine) freedom of artistry and

2. Having been in entertainment for many years I know the pressures put on girls/women by various forces. Let’s remember that the same heavy pressures to conform are not placed upon men as per usual, because guess who runs the industry?

Lots of people continue to say this person or that person is not a good role model for their daughters, judging them mostly by their raunch and lack of clothing, so here is a list of very beautiful, very clothed, excellent young artists for your daughters to admire!

Feel free to suggest folks that have been left off!

1. Taylor Swift

t swift

2. Carrie Underwood

carrie-underwood-1

3. Esperanza Spaulding

Clive Davis 2012 Pre-GRAMMY Gala

4. Norah Jones

936full-norah-jones

5. Janelle Monae

janelle monae-300x450

6. Adele

brits arrivals 25 210212

7. Alicia Keys

showbiz_alicia_keys

8. Melody Gardot

Melody-Gardot-Feet-613899

9. Ani Di Franco

ani-difranco

10. India Arie

india-arie-that-grape-juice-she-is-diva

79 comments

  1. Thanks for the follow! I dont see videos much so i don’t know who takes what off πŸ™‚ I just enjoy the music. I assume that will change when my kids start seeing videos, though…What really bugs me is women in commercials, who are shown half naked and anorexic to sell shampoo. 😦

  2. It’s about time we give some light to the positive role models we actually have. People love to focus on the negative influences, then become shocked at the whole ‘sex sells’ (of course it does when you encourage it…duh)

  3. Interesting. I guess everything is relative. I believe a woman should have the right (without judgement) to wear as little or as much as she wants, for whatever reason she wants (as long as it’s HER reason). However, what’s “little” to some is a lot to other. I don’t care whether a woman wears a bikini or a turtleneck, and to be honest some of these people on this list still show more than what I would on an average day (not too little just an observation). But then again I can dress like a grandma! lol to each her own! πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks Candace for your articulate end thoughtful reply. I agree totally that it is a woman’s choice to dress how she sees fit, as is anyone’s right to comment on it, as with men. Trouble is it’s only women who get castigated all the time for how they look!

  4. I applaud you for celebrating this classy celebs who have not given in to peer pressure. Thank you for drawing attention to the fact that “appealing” does not have to mean the absence of apparel!

    Thank you also for becoming a follower of my blog. I hope you find the posts meaningful!

  5. Thank you for the thoughtful article and, even more, for your very thoughtful responses to the comments and critiques to your article! It is right in line with conversations we have been having in our house regarding clothing, sexism, the entertainment business and our culture in general.

  6. Hi there, thanks so much for the follow! I’ve only perused here for a little while but I really like the posts I’ve come across – you take on a refreshingly different perspective of things than most other blogs. It’s so easy to just click “like” as if we’re on Facebook so wanted to take moment and those likes a little more substance. Thanks again! πŸ™‚

    1. Ah hem, that’s supposed to be “and GIVE those likes a little more substance”. Why is it that errors and omissions are only obvious after clicking on post comment?

    2. Oh Lordy, that’s exactly what I like to do. I genuinely like what I ‘like’ but it seems so trite and too ‘easy’ sometimes and doesn’t seem to convey genuine feeling, although I wouldn’t get rid of it! So also where it feels right, I like to leave a comment and answer all communication hence my backlog!

  7. This is so spot on! The other day I was nagging on my Facebook wall that artists as big as Beyonce, Shakira and Rihanna continue appearing almost naked in their videos and make it all about their sexuality and body. They almost make it look like the ticket into show business for girls is how willing they are to be naked all the time (yes, Miley Cyrus, I am talking to you). Where is the talent in that? So I am definitely now listening to clothed female artists more, especially when I am watching videos. My addition to the list are Ellie Goulding and Katy B. Love them!

    1. Oh Lolkin, you may be a happy seeking nomad but you have not run into Ellie Goulding of late! Much has been written about her changed attire from quirky to perhaps try-too-hard sexy. Katy B I shall take your word for as I don’t know much about her but when I have seen her she is certainly buttoned up! πŸ™‚

      1. Then I won’t mention Margo Timmons. Liked this article, too. I am the father of a beautiful teen-aged girl and this post strikes a chord because I do what I can to make her feel loved and beautiful.

  8. This post got me thinking about female artists who make decent music and take their clothes off. I haven’t thought of one yet.

  9. Though I do not have a strong opinion on the subject of clothing on/off, I enjoyed your article immensely. Mostly, I appreciate the diversity that you included in your samples of beauty; variations of color, size and sex appeal.

    I also loved your statement, “That was a time when lovers of music and not marketers and accountants ran the music industry.” So, so true. I cringe whenever I hear a TV commercial that includes lyrics once considered edgy, intense and nonconformist.

    Thank you for following my blog. I am happy to have found yours!

    1. ” I cringe whenever I hear a TV commercial that includes lyrics once considered edgy, intense and nonconformist.” – Oh gosh YES! Plus with so much upheaval in the world, where are the protest singers? They do exist. But they are quashed.

      1. So glad you agree. I was beginning to wonder if anyone else in the world noticed. We’re all so fearful of crossing that line to the politically incorrect zone that we keep veering back to the mainstream.

      2. Ha ha! If there is one thing I abhor it is PC-ness. Straight dialogue suits me just fine. I hate pussy footing. I know I’ll get in trouble one day! Not sure I care.

  10. It is a wonderful reminder that a woman does not need to crawl into a corner in shame when she does not have the pin up figure. Religion aside, it is possible to achieve great things in life without having to undress. Just saying. So I like this post. πŸ™‚

  11. Thank you for this post! Not only was it interesting but the comments section has been fascinating as well. I’m a bit on the fence when it comes to artists like Miley. I don’t think she’s super talented, personally, but I do believe in artistic expression when it’s coming from a genuine place.

    The pressures of sexualization are felt at all levels but it’s not necessarily the same for the consequences. When Miley takes her clothes off and dances provocatively she may be responding to pressures from the industry or she may sincerely be exploring her own sexuality. My issue is that she can do so and not suffer the same kind of consequences that a young woman exhibiting the same behavior at a party might.

    She gives the impression that a woman can act that way and there are no repercussions other than someone maybe saying something unflattering about you. In the real world it can be disastrous for a young woman to act that way. And that’s what concerns me.

    Thanks for the thought provoking post!

    1. Exactly. Think I made that point to someone else too. We don’t all hire bodyguards, so the rules are not the same for every girl who tries to emulate Miley Cyrus. However, that is not Miley Cyrus’ issue. That is the issue of the individual and their upbringing.
      Thanks for getting involved! πŸ™‚

  12. I’m loving this list; you have so many artists here that I am so fond of. Adele, India Arie, Alicia Keys, and Nora Jones are my favorite of the bunch.

    In the spirit of your post topic, one artist I’d like to throw on there is Solange Knowles. Her sister, Beyonce, has a beautiful powerhouse of a voice that many times overshadows the smooth tones of Solange’s artistry. No disrespect to Bey, but I feel like her voice is so great that the tiny scraps of cloth she wears are a bit unnecessary. Less isn’t always more.

    I do, however, understand the pressures of the music industry, and today, sex sells. I am just grateful for artists like the ladies listed above and others who let their voices stimulate their fans rather than their bodies.

    1. Oooogh Now there’s an interesting addition! I am not completely familiar with her music, but I know she was going for something a little less formulaic both in her style and music (probably why it’s not a big as her sisters efforts eh?) But yup good addition! πŸ™‚

  13. Thanks for liking my blog! In a spirit of helpful gratitude, not trying to be a nitpicky PITA (comes naturally, don’t need to try), but your title should read ‘female artists WHO keep their clothes on” not “THAT”:. ‘Who’ refers to a human being; ‘That’ refers to animals and things. Just think we can save the world with good clear communication!!

    1. Kelly Clarkson (tick) πŸ™‚ Kate Voegele – have to check her out, she is new to me – although I do take your word! Mary JBlige (tick) – but of course, how could I leave her out? πŸ™‚

    1. Okay…read it and people don’t realize that that is exactly how it is sometimes. It is a lot of pressure on a young female by record company and management to be unimaginative and just whip off those clothes. I had the same. It is not always just some floozy who wants to get butt naked. It is someone who wants a career and is pressurized and often doesn’t quite know what to do. The parents (if they are around) often don’t know how to advise because they have not been in her shoes and don’t want to say anything to jeopardize her career…it takes a strong soul.

  14. This was an interesting post! I am all for expression and fashion, but sometimes people in the media go out of control. I think it is refreshing to have talented, female, artists who practice modesty in the way they dress. Ani Difranco is one my all time heroines, so I am pretty stoked to see her on here!

    Also, thanks for the follow! Looking forward to reading more of your blog posts. πŸ™‚

  15. I loved your list of artists. It appears to me that the degree of talent MAY be correlated to the amount of clothes some artist wear. I find the ones you chose to be quite talented and those who seek the sensationalism of wearing next to nothing somewhat lacking in the vocal department. Just my two cents. Love your blog.

    1. OMG I never considered that when putting the list together. Of course I knew they were all super talented ladies – but you make an interesting point lol. The only artist I can think of completely from the top of my head that might go against the correlation as both a great musician and singer is Lady Gaga. This is not a statement about whether I like her music or not as I don’t know most of it, but at the core of her talent as a musician, songwriter and singer she would still cut it clothes on or off, in other words she doesn’t have to hide behind production or semi-nudity.

  16. “…a soundtrack of music I have been introducing to my little girl.” – This I love ‘cos that’s how it can be for anyone. Mom’s introducing their daughters to people, not the TV (capital ‘M” you notice in honour of you!). If a young girl gets enough good guidance as a foundation and other influences later come her way she is more likely to make better decisions and choose appropriate role models from all walks of life.

    Ah yes, Ms Di Franco – seen her twice in London. She is rather special and a prime example of self belief in the face of adverse record industry influence.

  17. What a beautiful list of incredibly talented (and clothed) women. You seemed to have created a soundtrack of music I have been introducing to my little girl. Their music embodies what I feel a young female should be hearing… Reality with class.

    And anyone that listens to or recommends Ani DiFranco is a friend in my book πŸ™‚

  18. hi new friend – I hope this doesn’t come across as facetious or judgmental in any way, because that is not what I intend, but I just wonder why such a list is relevant. Why does it matter who “keeps their clothes on” and who takes them off? I sense there’s some kind of value judgment being made here about taking off v. keeping on, with those who take off being of the lesser variety. though you say you aren’t judging your near-naked sisters, one can’t help but feel that the tone must be slightly judgmental, as this is tagged as “Christian,” as well as with “feminism” – but I do feel that feminists strongly believe in self-empowerment, in women wearing or not wearing whatever she prefers.
    thank you for the follow and I look forward to reading more of your posts!

    1. Hallo Misty! Excellent points! It is tagged as ‘Christian’ because the people who inspired the post overwhelmingly identified themselves as Christian, hence I assume it would be of interest to them and I welcome their comments.
      It is tagged as ‘feminism’ for the reason you state. A woman’s choices, her body and sexuality has always been a feminist issue, so I assume feminists might be interested and I welcome their comments.

      There is not a value judgement being made here as I state that “here is a list of very beautiful, very clothed, excellent young artists for your daughters to admire!” in response to tons of comments about say Miley Cyrus failing in her position as a ‘role model’ – well my answer to that is find an artist that keeps her clothes ON if that is an issue. They do exist.

      And lastly this list is as relevant as a list on ‘Artist’s With South American Backgrounds’ or ‘Artists That Used To Do Plumbing’ – in other words, it’s just a list. One of many.
      Would you ask about the necessity of this list if it were about plumbing?

      I look forward to your wayward writings and hope that the lizard was Lunch in name only! πŸ™‚

      1. Thank you for clarifying – I hope I didn’t sound rude! I really appreciate you clarifying and it definitely helps me realize what you meant by the list! Thanks for taking the time to reply to my confusion as well! πŸ™‚ And yes, Lunch was just a name πŸ™‚

      2. I personally believe what matters about a woman taking her clothes off v. On is definitely a media propaganda because sex sells. I think this list matters because being Black, and considering our history Black women have been seen as sexual objects. It pains me most to see how Women in general are being used as sexual objects. I don’t see that as women “expressing their sexuality” I see it as media using and abusing us. Us meaning women of all color.

      3. That’s interesting. Black women and sexuality have something of a chequered past with the whole forbidden exotic fruit thing. But then you have the ‘National Geographic thing’ where this magazine was allowed in schools despite showing African women’s breasts on the covers frequently, where it would not have been allowed if it were a white woman’s breasts. Then you had films like ‘Zulu’ which were 100’s of African women topless. This film would never have been shown as a mainstream film in the 1960’s(?) or 70’s if ONE white women was topless. In a way they were clearly NOT seen as sexual to have been allowed to be displayed in this way….As you raised the issue, I am interested in your take on this almost schizophrenic treatment of Black female sexuality.

      4. You’re definitely right. I think it’s a matter of media and how generally women here (when in the nude) are looked at in a sexual manner because our society has sexualised human nature.

Leave a Reply

